PDA

View Full Version : Featured Image Zoomer | Thumbnails & Options Box

JamesArtVille
08-09-2013, 01:42 AM
1) Script Title: Featured Image Zoomer (now w/Multi-Zoom) v2.2

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/featuredzoomer.htm (also referencing: http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/demos/multizoom/demoactivepersist.htm)

3) Describe problem: The Multi-Zoom feature works great with thumbnails. I also have an options box that corresponds to the thumbnails (it makes it easier to the customer to know what pattern they are purchasing). Unfortunately, when the selection box is used instead of the thumbnails being clicked, the magnified zoom box does not change. This isn't a flaw in the script, but I've been trying without success to make it correspond accordingly. It was hard enough for me just to get the select options box to update after clicking a thumbnail in the first place. I am new to javascript, and I've learned so much from Dynamic Drive's tutorials and scripts.

Here is the page with the script: http://www.gunskins.com/products/reef-slayer-camo.html.

An alternative that I considered was to use the single image zoomer script (the one that uses the 'largeimage' definition) and putting a variable as the value for largeimage (ex: largeimage = x). Then have a separate function that is called from 'onclick' for the thumbnails and 'onchange' for the selection box that re-defines the 'x' variable with the appropriate url of the large image. But I was not successful in this attempt also. Is it possible to update a variable in the image zoomer function definitions list, and have it reflect in real time on the same page?:confused:

If anybody is bold enough to look at my page's source and give me advice/critique, I much appreciate it. I really just want to know if my inquiry is even possible. It would save me lost of time and effort if I knew either way.

Thanks.

jscheuer1
08-09-2013, 05:01 AM