PDA

View Full Version : Javascript to control the length of page down/up scrolling?

Martin717
08-03-2013, 04:19 AM
Hello,

I've created a site (not live yet) that has a fixed header and footer, along with a bit of associated padding. This creates a problem - when hitting page down, the scroll length isn't compensating for the heights of these elements. Therefore, when "page down" is pushed, you end missing some content and have to manually go back up a bit (with the arrows, etc.).

I'm a novice to web design/coding. I've built this site for a non-related business that I'm near ready to launch, with this issue one of the few things left to fix. I've tried two different Javascript "fixes" for this:

one I found online and can't get to work at all

another that someone nicely wrote for me, but doesn't work correctly. After adjusting the parameters, it'll "page down" nicely ONCE. Then every time you hit the button again and release the key, it'll jump right back to the position on the page that one hit of "page down" would bring you to. Due to this, I can't check if and what it does for "page up".

Does anyone have an idea of what needs to be used/written/etc. to adjust things so that every time someone uses a "page" key, it'll function as expected *with* an adjustment for the fixed portions of my pages?

If coding of one of my pages - and possibly the Javascript I've tried - will help with possibly working on a solution, please advise and I'll add it here.

I greatly appreciate your help! :)

jscheuer1
08-03-2013, 06:37 AM
Yes, we would need to see all that. Better still would be a live demo. I'm sure you could put something up somewhere using stock images and text, or use your own images and text. We just have to see it - the layout and the script.

Martin717
08-03-2013, 06:46 PM
Hello John,

Thanks for the fast response.