PDA

View Full Version : Making Ajax Side Panel refresh parent page when panel is closed.

Jvloomin
08-01-2013, 08:40 PM
Script Title: Ajax Side Panel

Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxsidepanel.htm

Hi, I'm really new to java script so have no idea what I'm doing so sorry if I sound really stupid. I managed to get the script to work, and I have a page that is editable using php, and when you click on the edit button the ajax side panel is activated and contains the editing form.

After user clicks submit the form does its thing and the panel stays open, I was just wondering how do I get the parent page to reload when the side panel is closed?

I found some things like this:

window.top.location.href=theLocation;
window.parent.location.href=theLocation;
window.top.location.replace(theLocation);

only problem is I don't know where to put it..please help

jscheuer1
08-01-2013, 09:58 PM
Well, the close button isn't on the page inside the iframe, so you don't need any parent or top stuff. Using a text only editor like NotePad, find this inside the ddajaxsidepanel.js file and add the highlighted:

showhidepanel:function(url, action, type){
var $ = jQuery, setting = this.setting
var panelstate = this.$panelref.data('state')
var winwidth = $(window).width(), panelwidth = this.$panelref.outerWidth()
if (panelwidth < parseInt(setting.openamount_minthreshold))
return true
if (setting.openamount_maxwidth && setting.openamount_maxwidth > setting.openamount_minthreshold)
panelwidth = Math.min(panelwidth, parseInt(setting.openamount_maxwidth))
if (action =="show" && panelstate == "open")
this.$panelref.animate({left: '+=50'}, function(){
ddajaxsidepanel.loadcontent(null)
})
var finalcss = (action=="show")? {left: winwidth-panelwidth, opacity: 1} : {left: winwidth, opacity: 0}
this.$panelref.animate(finalcss, setting.fx.dur, (this.$panelref.data('state')=='open')? 'easeOutBack' : setting.fx.easing, function(){