PDA

View Full Version : ie10 problem with starting slideshow



ninjag
06-17-2013, 03:27 PM
1) Script Title: fadeinslideshow.js

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2/pages/skip-hire-in-glasgow-loading.html (but don't click this just yet or the images will load into your cache!)

3) Describe problem: When you navigate to it from http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2 and then go to "Skip Hire" from the drop down menu at the top and choose "Loading Guidelines" there seems to be an excessive delay with the first image coming up, so all you see is a blank area. However, if you go into directly using the URL at the top of this post it seems to load almost straightaway.

Mind, if you've already clicked the direct link to clear your cache etc otherwise it will load the images from your hard drive and everything will look fine.

It works fine in Safari and Firefox both navigating from the main menu and also directly. I've tried using many different computers and connections (BT ADSL, Virgin 60MB fibre optic etc).

Could anyone help?


Cheers

jscheuer1
06-17-2013, 04:47 PM
I'm not seeing that exact problem, but I suppose it would depend upon connection speed. What I see is that, since the "Loading Guidelines" link is in the same position as a part of the slideshow, the first image shows up right away, but the show is in pause mode (it does pause on mouse over). Other browsers do not see the mouse as over the show unless you move it, others might not even see it as over the show unless you move it out and then back over the show.

If the connection is slower, the first image might not have time to load before the show goes into pause mode in IE 10, that might be what you're seeing.

And yes I tried it in IE 10 without navigating to the page itself first, and later with the cache cleared.

There are two things that come to mind, one is you could use my modified version of the script that allows it to continue loading even if it starts in paused mode (right click and 'Save As'):

fadeslideshow.js (http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/inmotion/js/fadeslideshow.js)

But that still will not prevent the slideshow from pausing if the mouse just happens to be over it as the page loads. For that you would need to either completely disable the mouseover pause, or disable it temporarily, at least until the user mouses out from the slideshow for the first time, but then only if the mouse happens to be over the slideshow as it loads - complicated, but I think I might be able to work that out.

For now though, you could completely disable the mouseover pause, add the highlighted as shown to the on page init:


<script type="text/javascript">


var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
dimensions: [1400, 450], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
imagearray: [
["http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2/waste-type-banner/1.gif"],
["http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2/waste-type-banner/2.gif"],
["http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2/waste-type-banner/3.gif"],
["http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2/waste-type-banner/4.gif"],
["http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2/waste-type-banner/5.gif"],
["http://www.cmidemolition.co.uk/v2/waste-type-banner/6.gif"] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
],
displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
descreveal: "ondemand",
togglerid: "",
oninit: function(){
var sObj = this.setting;
sObj.$wrapperdiv.bind('mouseenter', function(){sObj.ismouseover = false;});
}
})

</script>


Don't miss the added comma (red) after the togglerid value.

The browser cache may need to be cleared and/or the page refreshed to see changes.

ninjag
06-18-2013, 02:25 PM
Wow, legend! That bit of code has done the trick and it starts immediately. Is there anything you don't know with this stuff? lol