PDA

View Full Version : Newbie setting links help. V basic I am not too sharp



manyanna
01-29-2006, 12:07 PM
Hi,

I am new and I can not get any of the scripts working. I think I have just got confused on setting my links up.

1) I am trying to use one of the slideshow scripts. Do I need to upload any code 1st to get it working? I am using Frontpage and copying the code into the html section. It does not show the picture when I go to preview and displays a box with a cross in indicating a bad link I guess?

I have all my photos in a folder in the ftp: http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/

f1.jpg - f20.jpg I take it that these should be in my Array?

//specify images
var slideimages=new Array("f1.jpg","f2.jpg","f3.jpg")

and for the specify corresonding links I name the folder that they are all in on my web space i.e

//specify corresponding links
var slidelinks=new Array("http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/","http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/","http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/")

I apologise for my ignorance and thank you in advance for any help.

Kind regards

Matt
-------------------------------------
<html>

<head>
<script language="JavaScript1.1">
<!--

//*****************************************
// Blending Image Slide Show Script-
// Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
// For full source code, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/
//*****************************************

//specify interval between slide (in mili seconds)
var slidespeed=3000

//specify images
var slideimages=new Array("f1.jpg","f2.jpg","f3.jpg")

//specify corresponding links
var slidelinks=new Array("http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/","http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/","http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/")

var newwindow=0 //open links in new window? 1=yes, 0=no

var imageholder=new Array()
var ie=document.all
for (i=0;i<slideimages.length;i++){
imageholder[i]=new Image()
imageholder[i].src=slideimages[i]
}

function gotoshow(){
if (newwindow)
window.open(slidelinks[whichlink])
else
window.location=slidelinks[whichlink]
}

//-->
</script>
</head>

<body>
<a href="javascript:gotoshow()"><img src="denizlong.jpg" name="slide" border=0 style="filter:blendTrans(duration=3)" width=97 height=100></a>

<script language="JavaScript1.1">
<!--

var whichlink=0
var whichimage=0
var blenddelay=(ie)? document.images.slide.filters[0].duration*1000 : 0
function slideit(){
if (!document.images) return
if (ie) document.images.slide.filters[0].apply()
document.images.slide.src=imageholder[whichimage].src
if (ie) document.images.slide.filters[0].play()
whichlink=whichimage
whichimage=(whichimage<slideimages.length-1)? whichimage+1 : 0
setTimeout("slideit()",slidespeed+blenddelay)
}
slideit()

//-->
</script>

<p align="center"><font face="arial" size="-2">This free script provided by<br>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com">Dynamic Drive</a></font></p>

</body>

</html>

jscheuer1
01-29-2006, 05:07 PM
Nope, it is more like so:


//specify images
var slideimages=new Array("http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/f1.jpg","http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/f2.jpg","http://www.apartfromtherest.com/Photo/slide/f3.jpg")

That slidelinks array is for links, like if you want the page to change when someone clicks on an image. If you don't want any linking onclick of the images change this:


<a href="javascript:gotoshow()">

to:


<a href="javascript:void(0)">

manyanna
01-29-2006, 08:54 PM
Of course.

Thanks you so much John Life saver!