PDA

View Full Version : what is the difference between these two pages.



ajfmrf
03-31-2013, 03:18 AM
The red part in the second page is different


<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
<title> Your Title </title>

</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000" link="#0000cc" vlink="#cc0000" alink="#FFffFF">

<table>
<tr>
<td>
<form name="dynamiccombo">
<select name="stage2" size="1" onchange="gothere()">
<option value="#">This is a Place Holder</option>
<option value="#">This is a Place Holder</option>
<option value="#">This is a Place Holder</option>
</select>
<input type="hidden" name="test" value="Go!"
onClick="gothere()">
</form>

<script>
<!--

//Dynamic combo box script- by javascriptkit.com
//Visit JavaScript Kit (http://javascriptkit.com) for script
//Credit must stay intact for use


//DEFINE the group of links for display in the combo
//EXTEND each array and its elements as needed
//BE sure to follow the pattern revealed below
var combo1=new Array()
combo1[0]=new Option("JavaScript Kit","http://javascriptkit.com")
combo1[1]=new Option("Dynamic Drive","http://www.dynamicdrive.com")
combo1[2]=new Option("Freewarejava.com","http://www.freewarejava.com")
combo1[3]=new Option("Free Web Templates","http://www.freewebtemplates.com")
combo1[4]=new Option("Web Monkey","http://www.webmonkey.com")

var combo2=new Array()
combo2[0]=new Option("CNN","http://www.cnn.com")
combo2[1]=new Option("MSNBC","http://www.msnbc.com")
combo2[2]=new Option("BBC News","http://news.bbc.co.uk")
combo2[3]=new Option("ABC News","http://www.abcnews.com")

var combo3=new Array()
combo3[0]=new Option("Hollywood.com","http://www.hollywood.com")
combo3[1]=new Option("MTV","http://www.mtv.com")
combo3[2]=new Option("ETOnline","http://etonline.com")


var cacheobj=document.dynamiccombo.stage2

function populate(x){
for (m=cacheobj.options.length-1;m>0;m--)
cacheobj.options[m]=null
selectedarray=eval(x)
for (i=0;i<selectedarray.length;i++)
cacheobj.options[i]=new Option(selectedarray[i].text,selectedarray[i].value)
cacheobj.options[0].selected=true
}

function gothere(){
location=cacheobj.options[cacheobj.selectedIndex].value
}

//SHOW first combo by default
populate(combo1)

//-->
</script>
</td>
<td>
<!--SET up your links, and pass in the name of the group (ie: combo1) you wish to display for the link in question-->
<a href="javascript:populate(combo1)">Webmaster sites</a> | <a href="javascript:populate(combo2)">News sites</a> | <a href="javascript:populate(combo3)">Entertainment</a>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

<p align="center">This free script provided by<br />
<a href="http://javascriptkit.com">JavaScript
Kit</a></p>
</body>
</html>

This one is different:


<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
<title> Your Title </title>

</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000" link="#0000cc" vlink="#cc0000" alink="#FFffFF">

<table>
<tr>
<td>
<form name="dynamiccombo">
<select name="stage2" size="1" onchange="gothere()">
<option value="#">This is a Place Holder</option>
<option value="#">This is a Place Holder</option>
<option value="#">This is a Place Holder</option>
</select>
<input type="hidden" name="test" value="Go!"
onClick="gothere()">
</form>

<script>
<!--

//Dynamic combo box script- by javascriptkit.com
//Visit JavaScript Kit (http://javascriptkit.com) for script
//Credit must stay intact for use


//DEFINE the group of links for display in the combo
//EXTEND each array and its elements as needed
//BE sure to follow the pattern revealed below
var combo1=new Array()
combo1[0]=new Option("JavaScript Kit","http://javascriptkit.com")
combo1[1]=new Option("Dynamic Drive","http://www.dynamicdrive.com")
combo1[2]=new Option("Freewarejava.com","http://www.freewarejava.com")
combo1[3]=new Option("Free Web Templates","http://www.freewebtemplates.com")
combo1[4]=new Option("Web Monkey","http://www.webmonkey.com")

var combo2=new Array()
combo2[0]=new Option("CNN","http://www.cnn.com")
combo2[1]=new Option("MSNBC","http://www.msnbc.com")
combo2[2]=new Option("BBC News","http://news.bbc.co.uk")
combo2[3]=new Option("ABC News","http://www.abcnews.com")

var combo3=new Array()
combo3[0]=new Option("Hollywood.com","http://www.hollywood.com")
combo3[1]=new Option("MTV","http://www.mtv.com")
combo3[2]=new Option("ETOnline","http://etonline.com")

var curlevel=1
var cacheobj=document.dynamiccombo.stage2

function populate(x){
for (m=cacheobj.options.length-1;m>0;m--)
cacheobj.options[m]=null
selectedarray=eval(x)
for (i=0;i<selectedarray.length;i++)
cacheobj.options[i]=new Option(selectedarray[i].text,selectedarray[i].value)
cacheobj.options[0].selected=true

}

function displaysub(){
if (curlevel==1){
populate(cacheobj.options[cacheobj.selectedIndex].value)
curlevel=2
}
else
gothere()
}


function gothere(){
if (curlevel==2){
if (cacheobj.selectedIndex==cacheobj.options.length-1){
curlevel=1
populate(category)
}
else
location=cacheobj.options[cacheobj.selectedIndex].value
}
}



//SHOW first combo by default
populate(combo1)

//-->
</script>
</td>
<td>
<!--SET up your links, and pass in the name of the group (ie: combo1) you wish to display for the link in question-->
<a href="javascript:populate(combo1)">Webmaster sites</a> | <a href="javascript:populate(combo2)">News sites</a> | <a href="javascript:populate(combo3)">Entertainment</a>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

<p align="center">This free script provided by<br />
<a href="http://javascriptkit.com">JavaScript
Kit</a></p>
</body>
</html>

all the red colored code is different(I think there are differences at least.

Does the sceond allow for subcatergories?

ajfmrf
04-01-2013, 07:38 PM
No one can tell me if the second script is different as to being able to handle sub-catergories??

And if it is how??

Beverleyh
04-01-2013, 07:58 PM
I'm only running key lines through a Google search but the first script appears to be this: http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/script2/multicombo.shtml

And the second appears to be this: http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/script2/2levelcombo.shtml

So yes, you can see from the demo pages that the second allows for a second level.

ajfmrf
04-01-2013, 08:49 PM
So it is not the same script,how did I get that mixed up?

I don;t remember using never mind seeing that 2 level combo before.

Any thanks Beverlyh