PDA

View Full Version : DD drop down menu



tops
03-28-2013, 04:51 AM
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ddmegamenu.htm

EXAMPLE 1

3) Describe problem:


I'm using the DD drop down menu,

I have a free supplier website-I can't actually get into the (root) but can load codes and script.

every time I change the css the old one is still there.

I'm guessing its the names of the files

ddmegamenu.js
ddmegamenu.css


Is it possible to change these names to ddmegamenusbar (JS CSS)


and still have it all fit together so perfectly like now using all the same copy and past or what changes would I have to make?

If it wasn't a supplier website I would just delete from root reload and change name and so on.

I know its something simple....I just know...

any help appreciated

Beverleyh
03-28-2013, 06:41 AM
Your request is unclear.

Do you mean to say that your website uses the ddmegamenu.js and ddmegamenu.css files by default, but you can't access them to change their file names or link reference in your website template? If that's the case, how are you proposing to change their names as you suggested?

If you simply mean that you would like to override default styles, and you have the ability to insert custom CSS into your web template, you can try using !important: http://webdesign.about.com/od/css/f/blcssfaqimportn.htm

If you need more help, please explain what you're trying to do more clearly and provide a link to your page.

tops
03-28-2013, 01:47 PM
Bev,

Let me read your link and get back with u.

If u change the two names to ddmegamenubar.css
ddmegamenubar.js

and re upload , Link them correctly in the head, and make no changes to the call or the script,

Will the menu still work?

Or is there some lines I might need to change?

Is there any of the js I need to change or the call to the docnit or any css

Because of the call?

Changing the names will not effect the script-correct?

Is there any of the js I need to change or the call to the docnit or any css

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm wondering if maybe its my cache, I have an image I'm trying to get rid of won't go away.

Maybe its not loading correctly, not giving enough time.

Thx...................

Beverleyh
03-28-2013, 02:02 PM
Reference: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddmegamenu.htm (the link is broken in the opening post)

You can name the files anything you like - "mystyles.css" and "myscripts.js", for example, as long as what's inside remains unaltered.

You would then need to update the links to the revised file names in the <head> section of your website template;
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="mystyles.css" />

<script type="text/javascript" src="myscripts.js"></script>and of course preserve reference to the copyright notice - I've just condensed the line for simplicity.

Your web host might be configured to cache CSS, js and images but you can normally pull through the files again with a hard-refresh (CTRL+F5 on PC). If that doesn't show the changes, you might need to empty your browser cache and/or temp Internet files.

tops
03-31-2013, 04:51 PM
</script>

<script>

ddmegamenu.docinit({
menuid:'solidmenu',
dur:200 //<--no comma after last setting
})


ddmegamenu.docinit({
menuid:'megaanchorlink',
dur:500,
easing:'easeInOutCirc' //<--no comma after last setting
})

</script>

It's sill mot working do I need to change the ddmegamenu above as well?

I changed them to myddmegamenu and linked

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="myddmegamenu.css" />

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.5.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

<script src="myddmegamenu.js">

Beverleyh
03-31-2013, 05:16 PM
It looks like your code is partly broken - or a bit off at least. The closing script tag right at the top of the chunk you've pasted would need to go at the end of what you've pasted, to close the myddmegamenu.js tag.

That being said, its hard to guess at what's wrong without seeing your actual page so post a link and we can take a look.w

tops
03-31-2013, 05:56 PM
I'm going to give you a link to the site I just didn't want it posted/public

Is there any way I can give you a link to the site but not post it to the whole world?

djr33
03-31-2013, 06:35 PM
Yes. Create a temporary page with the same code (although you could remove any sensitive content if needed, just keep the layout/code equivalent). You could even put it on a free (different) server if you'd like.

tops
03-31-2013, 07:05 PM
I think I messaged Bev.

It's just my website copy past mess is embarrassment to people who may know what they are doing.

Here is the link To my actual site http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/

No laughing,,,,,

And below what I've done this time.


<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/preview/myddmegamenu.css" />

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.5.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

<script src="http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/preview/myddmegamenu.js">

/***********************************************
* DD Mega Menu (c) Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more.
***********************************************/

</script>

<script>

ddmegamenu.docinit({
menuid:'solidmenu',
dur:200 //<--no comma after last setting
})


ddmegamenu.docinit({
menuid:'megaanchorlink',
dur:500,
easing:'easeInOutCirc' //<--no comma after last setting
})

</script>

Document Description mymenustyle

Document Name myddmegamenu.css (folder)-(root)

Document Description myddmegamenu.js

Document Name myddmegamenu.js (folder)-(root)


http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/preview/myddmegamenu.css


http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/preview/myddmegamenu.js

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


When I use ddmegamenu.cs and ddmegamenu.js it works fine

though I added a couple of background images in the script and one doubles in explorer

and when I edit and delete they are still there, even though when I view it is not there?

That's why Im trying to change the names to myddmegamenu

maybe they will go away.

I hate asking for help though I've been dealing with this for weeks

tops
03-31-2013, 07:25 PM
Daniel,


Question when you edit your style sheet or make changes should you change the name?

If I edit the ddmegamenu,css

do I need to change the name?

to ddmegamenu1.css or something?

Or leave it?

Then would I have to change the link as well?

Would that effect the ddmegamenu.js?

djr33
03-31-2013, 07:27 PM
If you want to erase the old version, you can save it with the same name. If you want two versions, save it with a new name. Then the reference to the CSS file in your HTML document should contain the relevant filename, whichever that is-- so if you change the filename, you'll need to update the reference in the HTML as well.

tops
03-31-2013, 08:16 PM
I'm going to delete the mymegamenu.cs and js

and reupload the ddmegamenu.cs and js

but look its been deleted and http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/ddmegamenu.css

its still there.

I'm going to try delete the new and reload the old at least the menu works and try to get rid of the images again, Thanks...


.productSearchResultsBox {
background: url("http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/preview/images/ppwork-c.jpg") no-repeat scroll right bottom #FFFFFF;
border: 1px solid #CCCCCC;
border-radius: 5px 5px 5px 5px;
clear: both;
margin-top: -1px;
padding: 5px;
}

.pricingVersions {
border: 1px solid #CCCCCC;
border-radius: 5px 5px 5px 5px;
margin-top: -1px;
padding: 10px;
text-align: left;
width: 98%;
background: url("http://www.distributorcentral.com/websites/ImperialScottSpecialtiesdiscounts/preview/images/as-low-burst.jpg") no-repeat scroll right top #FFFFFF;
}

You think maybe I'm not giving it enough time?

When i edit the ddmegamenu.css and delete the images it reads they have been removed though when I view the actual website images are still there and
then check style sheet with firebug and it is not the new one named the same with images deleted it goes to the one before and images are still there.

Its like everytime I delete it goes back

Like I changed the color of thumbnail viewer fire bug reads:


#thumbBox {
background: none repeat scroll 0 0 #003366;
cursor: pointer;
left: 0;
padding: 10px 10px 0;
position: absolute;
top: 0;
visibility: hidden;
width: auto;
z-index: 10;
}
#thumbBox .footerbar {
color: #BBCFE0;
font: bold 16px/1.1em Tahoma;
letter-spacing: 5px;
padding: 5px 0;
text-align: right;
}
#thumbBox #thumbImage {
background-color: white;
}
#thumbLoading {
background-color: #EFEFEF;
border: 1px solid black;
padding: 5px;
position: absolute;
visibility: hidden;
z-index: 5;
}
======================================================
Though it's been changed to this

#thumbBox{ /*Outermost DIV for thumbnail viewer*/
position: absolute;
left: 0;
top: 0;
width: auto;
padding: 10px;
padding-bottom: 0;
background: #EEEEEE ;
visibility: hidden;
z-index: 10;
cursor: hand;
cursor: pointer;
}

#thumbBox .footerbar{ /*Footer DIV of thumbbox that contains "close" link */
font: bold 16px Tahoma;
letter-spacing: 5px;
line-height: 1.1em;
color: #003366;
padding: 5px 0;
text-align: right;
}


#thumbBox #thumbImage{ /*DIV within thumbbox that holds the enlarged image */
background-color: white;
}

#thumbLoading{ /*DIV for showing "loading" status while thumbbox is being generated*/
position: absolute;
visibility: hidden;
border: 1px solid black;
background-color: #EFEFEF;
padding: 5px;
z-index: 5;
}