PDA

View Full Version : "expand" button of expandableticker script not working on master page.



dmelnyk
02-24-2013, 09:21 PM
1) Script Title: Expandable Drop Down Ticker

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/expandableticker.htm

3) Describe problem:

Hi Folks. This script seems to work fine in a "basic" HTML page. However on my site I am attempting to use it within a "master" page. The issue I am having is that the script works properly EXCEPT that the "expand" image / button are not present. (neither the image nor the button "area") are on the page.

I have made sure that all the relevant files.. .css, .js and .jpg for expandticker are in the root of the website along with the Master page, to no avail.

Wondering if anyone has any suggestions. The website is www.notjusthotair.com ... the ticker is on the main page, left side, and will be up shortly (within an hour from now 16:18 EST Sunday Feb 24. Guess I can live with it for the moment as it functinos without the drop down selection, but would really like to have that part functional.

Best regards, Dave Melnyk

molendijk
02-24-2013, 11:58 PM
Did you include the page containing the ticker with Ajax? That might explain it. Scripts used on pages that are included via Ajax won't work.

Beverleyh
02-25-2013, 05:59 AM
Also, try using an absolute path to your expand image? That's the full URL with the http:// part at the beginning

dmelnyk
02-25-2013, 06:28 PM
Thanks for the reply. The ticker is actually part of the master page itself as it provides a "latest news" feed. There are other javascripts also running on the master page with no difficulties, and the script does work, EXCEPT for the expand button.

ddadmin
02-26-2013, 04:51 AM
I don't see the Expandable Ticker script up on the page you posted yet...

dmelnyk
02-26-2013, 02:41 PM
Hi sorry about not getting the script up on the site. Had a few client emergencies that cropped up and had to be dealt with. I have located the problem ... a z-index setting in an outer shell DIV was causing the issue. Had to start completely rebuildng the master page to find the issue, fortunately found relatively quickly.

I would like to thank all who took time to reply and / or think about the issue.

Best regards, Dave Melnyk