PDA

View Full Version : autoclick script



mbzbugsy
01-17-2006, 09:25 PM
Hi everyone, im a noob when it comes to javascript. I need a script that automaticly clicks a specific link in a page on page load. This I need to sett a link element attribute from a to a:visited. If you have other suggestions please let me know. Thanks for reading. :)

Twey
01-17-2006, 10:26 PM
... how about defining a different class for that link that has the properties you want?

mbzbugsy
01-18-2006, 01:30 AM
Thank you for your answer, I have tested what you suggested, didnt work for me. I have five links and the css is like this:

#team-nav a {
display: block;
padding-top:5px;
height:19px;
width:288px;
border-bottom:#cccccc 1px dotted;
background:#FFFFFF;
}
#team-nav a, #team-nav a:link, #team-nav a:visited {
text-decoration:none;
color:#5da4c3;
}
#team-nav a:hover {
text-decoration:underline;
color:#74bfe0;
background:#f1f1e3;
}
#team-nav a:active {
text-decoration:none;
color:#4a4a4a;
background:#f1f1e3;
}

Now if i set a different class for the first link like :

.active a { background:#f1f1e3; }
the background color wont change from #f1f1e3 to #FFFFFF. The links are:

<ul>
<li><a href="#">Link 1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 2</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 3</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 4</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 5</a></li>
</ul>

Anyway, what im trying to say is that i wanted to first link be as visited on page load. I thought that a javascript could make the first link clicked and set it as active. Any ideas?, thanks for reading.

Twey
01-18-2006, 04:01 PM
Sorry, did you say you wanted it to appear visited or active?

the background color wont change from #f1f1e3 to #FFFFFF.I should hope not. You're trying to set the default #ffffff to #f1f1e3 on visit, not the other way around.

mbzbugsy
01-18-2006, 07:36 PM
Sorry im not clear. I wanted it to appear as active.

Twey
01-18-2006, 07:42 PM
What I think is happening here is that the a:link you've specified overrides the style. Try something like:

a.preactive, a.preactive:link { background:#f1f1e3; }

<ul>
<li><a href="#" class="preactive">Link 1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 2</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 3</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 4</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Link 5</a></li>
</ul>

mbzbugsy
01-18-2006, 09:22 PM
Right, but a:active will only remain active provided that the user clicks the link i want to be active on pageload. I need the link to act as a sort of breadcrumb to indicate where the user is at. thanks for reading.

Twey
01-19-2006, 09:37 AM
The code I posted above won't actually make your link use a:active; instead, it will apply a different class you can use to make it look like it's active. This isn't constrained by clicking or not.