PDA

View Full Version : Why is my favicon not showing up?



katiebugla
10-02-2012, 08:06 PM
The website in question is richieadams.com (http://richieadams.com) and I have this in the head:
<link rel="icon" href="favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon">

I saved the file in the root folder... not sure what I am missing?

It's small (literally), but it would be a nice touch to have this work.

Thank you!

djr33
10-02-2012, 08:44 PM
Have you looked at the instructions on the favicon generator page here?
Your icon file looks ok and it's in the right location.

It may just be that you need to wait for browsers to catch up to this. But it didn't load for me either which is a little strange.

You could try putting that tag nearer the top of your page. I don't think that would change anything but it wouldn't hurt.
You can also try not using frames. That may be the problem. I'm not sure.

katiebugla
10-02-2012, 09:10 PM
You can also try not using frames. That may be the problem. I'm not sure.

Excuse my ignorance, what are the frames you are referring to?

Thank you for checking!

djr33
10-03-2012, 12:18 AM
I downloaded the .ico file just fine from the link in the source code. But there definitely are frames-- just check with view>source on the homepage. So a few things aren't lining up, based on what John and I have seen. I suggest looking at the overall structure of your site and checking to be sure everything is as you want it.

jscheuer1
10-03-2012, 02:51 AM
The file:

richieadams.com/favicon.ico

is not there.

If you navigate to the actual page:

rrc.la/richieadams/

the favicon shows up just fine.

You already have a frame (at richieadams.com/):


<html>
<head><title></title></head>
<frameset cols='*' rows='*'>
<frame src='http://www.rrc.la/richieadams' frameborder='0' scrolling='Auto' noresize marginwidth='0' marginheight='0'>
</frameset>
<!--
<noframes><body>Frame required.</body></noframes>
-->
</html>

You could perhaps set its favicon to the file on rcc.la:


<html>
<head><title></title><link rel="icon" href="http://www.rrc.la/richieadams/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon"></head>
<frameset cols='*' rows='*'>
<frame src='http://www.rrc.la/richieadams' frameborder='0' scrolling='Auto' noresize marginwidth='0' marginheight='0'>
</frameset>
<!--
<noframes><body>Frame required.</body></noframes>
-->
</html>

And, for older browsers also upload a copy of the favicon to richieadams.com/

katiebugla
10-03-2012, 02:47 PM
Ok, so because we are using website forwarding, that is why it may not be showing up? Thank you... I'll keep y'all posted on my progress. Thank you for your help.

djr33
10-03-2012, 04:12 PM
You're not really using forwarding. Real forwarding would be a redirect and you'd have no problems. You're just hiding your website in a frame on another domain. That's fine of course if it's your only option, but it is going to come with inherent limits. This is one of them. The other has to do with linking to pages directly and other issues with frames.

If possible, you should actually make the domain work-- it's more professional and will function better in a few ways. Of course the tradeoff is probably the expense, plus configuring it.

jscheuer1
10-03-2012, 04:12 PM
That almost certainly is why. The method of forwarding being used puts a frame around the actual website. The favicon for the page inside the frame will not show up. Only the favicon (if any) for the frame will. When I checked, the frame had no favicon.