PDA

View Full Version : Removing a DIV, or loading another page into DIV

DarkDove
09-15-2012, 05:03 AM
I am fairly new to javascript coding first of all.

My problem seems fairly simple but I can't get it to work, I have a page set up using frames, the "usual" setup, a links on left, banner up top and links on left open below the banner frame (of course).

One of the links goes to our forum, and in the forum has a banner/header (headerbar) up top that I would like to .remove using jQuery, or any other way of achieving this.

I have tried this in the index.html:

<html>
<head>
<script src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery-latest.js"></script>
</head>
<frameset rows="25%, 75%" BORDER=0 RESIZE=O><frame src="/pages/topbanner.html" />
<frameset cols="10,90" BORDER=0 RESIZE=O> <frame src="/pages/linksleft.html" />
<frame src="/pages/linksright.html" name="show" />
Sorry, your browser doesn't support iframes.
</iframe></frameset></frameset>
<script>
function removeforumban() {
$('.headerbar').remove();
}
var myForumBanTimer = setInterval(removeforumban,5000);
</script>
</html>

Is there something wrong with my script code, or will it not work in the frame because its not nested there itself?

Which has lead me to think I might need to load the forum page in a DIV, so I can nest the script in that page as well? if so, how would I do this?

DD

djr33
09-15-2012, 05:18 AM
The only thing that jumps out at me (which may directly solve everything) is that you are referring to only elements on that page. You'd need to refer to the other frame (a different document) and that should help. I still don't know if you've tried that or if there might be other security restrictions, but that's a first step.

Can you give us a link to your page? Are the two pages on the same subdomain (or domain)? There may be security restrictions imposed by the browser to (generally) stop cross-domain scripting attacks-- but this gets in the way when you do a project like that.