PDA

View Full Version : CSS and Categories

Mazigh
01-08-2006, 03:04 PM
Hoi,
I'm a newbie to the css and the markup languages generallay, i learnt some basic skills of the html, and i now want to learn some basic skills of the css.
I learnt that the css codes can be involved in three manners: linked stylesheet, embedded stylesheet, and inline styleheets.
People can also use their style on this manner:
you post this following code(s) in the document in one of the previous manners
.(the name of the style){
property= value;
}

and when you want to use it, you use it on this following manner:
<p class="(the name you chosed for your style, but without any dot)">here is the text you want to edit/make up with the css

and so you can use many styles through giving them various names.
(i don't claim it is fully correct, since i'm in the beginnig steps).

I also know that the css is useful, since you don't have to type all the html-tags in all you documents and at every link/alinea/head/background..., for this reason your page will take less time to load itself.

but i knew that those properties have several selector(what i call categories), like as this:

"BODY
{
background-color:#94739C;
font-family: Verdana,arial;
font-size: 12px;
color: #ffffff;
}

P
{
text-align: center
}

A
{
text-decoration: none;
font-weight: bold;
color:#ffffff;
font-size: 12px;
}"

and those are not the only categories, here there are no instructions about the situation of the links (a:link, visited link..) and much other instructions that are useful for the make up of any page;,
So, my question is: where i can find a page about all those categories (or at least the important categories/selectors) ?

I hope i'm not boring :D
Best regards,

Mazigh
01-08-2006, 03:44 PM
Hi i found this:
http://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp

But i do appreciate the summarizations ;)

mwinter
01-08-2006, 09:42 PM
.(the name of the style){
property= value;