PDA

View Full Version : Better to use cookies in PHP or JavaScript?

bernie1227
07-09-2012, 07:49 AM
Hiya guys,
I had no idea where to put this question, as it concerns two different coding languages, feel ffree to move it if you want. I'm just getting into PHP coding, and at the moment I'm having a look at cookies and I was wondering whether it is actually better/easier to set and read cookies using PHP or JavaScript? Any opinions are welcomed.
Bernie

ApacheTech
07-09-2012, 08:10 AM
It depends what type of cookie. If you're just starting out in PHP, make sure you read up asap on sessions, the $_SESSION[] array quickly becomes a vital tool and you'll spend most of your time passing variables into your session using the JQuery.load() AHAH method.

3rd party cookies will, for the most part, look after themselves and any that you use yourself can either be used wholly within Javascript or passed into the PHP session for further manipulation or storage (via database/xml) there.

Remember that, when writing internal scripts, you can pass PHP variables into it; so the following will work:

$(document).ready(function () {
$('#click-me').click(function () {
alert('<?php echo $_SESSION['username']; ?>');
});
});

In this case, the PHP is written into the script server-side, then sent to the page. The actual source for the code as you would see it in the browser would read:

$(document).ready(function () {
$('#click-me').click(function () {
alert('ApacheTech');
});
});

You can make external scripts behave like this as well, if you add a .htaccess file with some alternate file headers in it to the js folder, then start your scripts with:

<?php header("Content-type: text/javascript; charset: UTF-8"); ?>

However, this can screw up with remotely hosted files and with SVN builds like Git.