PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Complete the url



Q Mark
05-15-2012, 08:35 PM
I'm not really sure if this would in html, javascript, etc... But I'm looking to see if I can have where all you have to do is complete the url and go.

ex.:http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ would already be there and someone would just have to finish it off. ex.:http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums then go.

Can this be done? I was hoping to have on site & go to browser/window.

keyboard
05-16-2012, 09:24 AM
I'm sorry, but you're question doesn't really make sense.
Please try to provide a bit more information.

Q Mark
05-16-2012, 10:12 AM
More info, I'll try.

I guess it would be kinda like the browsers address bar when it tries to complete the site address as you type. Except you're the one completing it and it'll be on/in the/my site and it'll go to the main window.

I sure hope that helps explain this a little better.

bernie1227
05-16-2012, 10:17 AM
Sorry, its still not very clear, how do you mean, "and the person completes it" what will be the purpose of the bar?

keyboard
05-16-2012, 10:20 AM
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<script type="text/javascript">
function travelUrl() {
window.location = "http://www.dynamicdrive.com/" + document.getElementById('urlBar').value;
}
</script>
</head>
<body>
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/<input type="text" name="urlBar" id="urlBar" /><input type="button" value="Go" onclick="travelUrl()" />
</body>
</html>



Like this?

bernie1227
05-16-2012, 10:21 AM
hang on,
did you mean as in like the search bar on the web-browser, to search content on your site?
bernie

Q Mark
05-16-2012, 06:15 PM
.....
Like this?
Yes, just like that. I knew it could be done I just couldn't find any info about it anywhere or really knew how to explain it right.

Thank you

keyboard
05-16-2012, 11:26 PM
That's fine. Glad I helped!

If this thread is finished, please set it to resolved.
You can do this by editing the first post within the thread - Pressing go advanced - Then where it says no prefix, selecting resolved then save.