PDA

View Full Version : ddlevelsmenu



peleve
04-27-2012, 11:45 PM
1) Script Title: ddlevelsmenu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/

3) Describe problem: I've spent most of the day implementing this script in my application. I got it to work, but I came across several issues.
a) How do I change the font size for the menu items that are expanding from the root menu. I can change the root menu font size, but it does not propagate to the sub menus
b) The path to the .gif files is hardcoded in the js function. In my applications I go multiple folders deep and the path to the .gif files doesn't track. I use a php variable to set the folder level (to go from ../../../) in my other pages.

I have a workaround for (b), but not yet (a).

Anyone with any thoughts?

Thank you,

ddadmin
04-28-2012, 07:02 AM
To answer your questions:

1) Try editting ddlevelsmenu-base.css, specifically the below rule:


.ddsubmenustyle, .ddsubmenustyle div{ /*topmost and sub DIVs, respectively*/
font: normal 13px Verdana;
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
position: absolute;
left: 0;
top: 0;
list-style-type: none;
background: white;
border: 1px solid black;
border-bottom-width: 0;
visibility: hidden;
z-index: 100;
font-size: 14px;
}

2) The easiest solution actually is just to use a absolute URL for each image's path:


downarrow: ["http://mysite.com/arrow-down.gif", 11,7], //[path_to_down_arrow, arrowwidth, arrowheight]
rightarrow: ["http://mysite.com/arrow-right.gif", 12,12], //[path_to_right_arrow, arrowwidth, arrowheight]

kjriss088
01-08-2013, 02:44 PM
Hello:

I am a new member and this is my first attempt to post a question, so I apologize that it is here, because I cannot find a link to create a new post anywhere on this site!

My question is: I have successfully implemented the ddlevelstopmenubar on about 30 pages for my website, but on one of them, one of the submenu items (which has links to a third level of menu items) does not appear below its main (top) menu item when the cursor hovers over that, but appears several inches away, at the top left corner of my webpage, where the user cannot access it. Can anyone tell me why this behavior is occurring and how to remedy it?

Thank you, in advance, for your help.

djr33
01-08-2013, 02:53 PM
Please ask your question in a new thread:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=2
The link is at the top of each forum, an image that says "+Post New Thread".

kjriss088
01-09-2013, 04:15 PM
Thanks, Daniel. But I don't see such an image anywhere on the pages I've visited! I've used your link to post my question.

djr33
01-09-2013, 06:14 PM
Here's an image with the location; it's the blue button.
4882

Visible here: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?2-Dynamic-Drive-scripts-help
(Or in any of the other forums as well.)