PDA

View Full Version : Multi-Part Content Extension

cgweaver
12-30-2005, 10:35 PM
I would like to extend the multi-part content script such that I can use it for input. I am dynamically creating the 'parts' using PHP. Included in the content areas are two input devices, one a select and the other a checkbox.

Although I'm not new to programming, I'm new to DHTML. I don't know how to interrogate the partscollect for the values of those elements.

Would someone be so kind as to show me a simple example of how to loop through partscollect for the multiparts class objects and how to identify which are the select and checkbox inputs?

jscheuer1
01-02-2006, 09:34 AM
Well, it could depend upon why, and if you really need the multiparts element or perhaps just the input element, on if there is one and only one checkbox in a multiparts element and similarly for the select input. As I think you've already noticed, the way the script is set up, the partscollect array contains all the multiparts class elements. What you may or may not have gotten is that they are represented as objects in that collection, meaning that their various properties are available for query. Another fact is that if one of these multiparts elements contains an input element, it will be a child of the multiparts element or a child of a child etc. This last part isn't important just yet. OK, enough theory, here is a simple but dirty way of querying the partscollect array:

<script type="text/javascript">
function queryParts(string){
for (var i_tem = 0; i_tem < partscollect.length; i_tem++)
if (partscollect[i_tem].innerHTML.indexOf(string)!==-1)
return partscollect[i_tem]
}
</script>

With the above function available we can do this:

<input type="button" onclick="alert(queryParts('scientific'))">