PDA

View Full Version : Unobtrusive Bookmark Script Works Too Well, Not A Good Thing

Jules Manson
12-24-2005, 03:29 PM
Dear good people:

I am new to forums so please forgive me if I sound dry and matter-of-fact. After all programming is a very dry discipline but one that bring many rewards. I am self-taught at client-side scripting and I still have a lot to learn but my ego is usually too big to ask for help however sometimes we all need to put our ego aside. I have searched every corner and under every rock on the web looking for a solution before coming here. I recieved help from others at other sites however it did not solve this problem because they did not bother to test their own solutions or simply because I did not understand their responses. If you do wish to help me please test my code and your own solution before replying. Below I post the HTML and script to use as a template.

[WHAT DOES WORK AND COAUTHOR CREDIT GIVEN FOR BEST SOLUTION]

Unobtrusive DOM Scripting (http://domscripting.webstandards.org/?page_id=2) is not a new phenomena however like AJAX it has now just started to take hold among professionals. Currently no bookmark script exists that I know of that is unobtrusive and will automatically grab the URL and Title off a web page. This script does that however it is still "buggy" (see my requests for help). Once this script is debugged I will post it at several well known web sites and Dynamic Drive if they accept it. I will of course give coauthor credit along with a link to their web site for the best solution given.

[REQUEST FOR HELP - SHORT VERSION]