PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Object Undefined Error

championcyclones
02-12-2012, 10:43 PM
I'm working on creating a lunar calendar and am encountering an undefined object error from functions called from an external js file.

Here is the exact error message:

"Uncaught TypeError: Cannot call method 'getFullYear' of undefined"

I am relatively new to javascript and was hoping someone could help me out with it?

jscheuer1
02-12-2012, 11:32 PM
If all you say is an accurate description of where this error is coming from, it most likely means that somewhere in that external file there is something like:

something.getFullYear()

where something is a variable that is expected to represent a Date Object, but that at that point in the code for some reason does not.

That could be because it was fed faulty data, or because it is poorly written, or a bit of both. There could possibly be another reason or reasons. I can't tell for sure what or how to fix it without seeing the live page where this is happening.

Even then, if all or some of the code contributing to the error is too incoherent, the fix might not be all that obvious. But I'm willing to have a look.

If you want more help, please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

championcyclones
02-13-2012, 02:08 AM
Here's the first function that I experience the error with from the external js file:

function calcMAge(cDay) {
var thisYear=cDay.getFullYear();
var thisMonth=cDay.getMonth()+1;
var thisDay=cDay.getDate();

var YY = thisYear - Math.floor((12 - thisMonth)/10);
var MM = thisMonth+9;
if (MM >= 12) MM=MM-12;

var K1 = Math.floor( 365.25 * ( YY + 4712 ) );
var K2 = Math.floor( 30.6 * MM + 0.5 );
var K3 = Math.floor( Math.floor( ( YY / 100 ) + 49 ) * 0.75 ) - 38;

var JD = K1 + K2 + thisDay + 59;
if (JD > 2299160) JD=JD-K3;

var IP = normalize((JD-2451550.1)/29.530588853);
var AG = IP*29.53; // the moon's age in days

return roundValue(AG, 3);
}