PDA

View Full Version : Div swap affecting child scripts

Mirth
02-05-2012, 03:45 PM
Hello,

(Thank you for this wonderful board)

I'm pretty new to Javascript, so I've been trying to work with what I can find. I feel like there's a very simple solution to this, I just don't see it.

I've been using this script to swap a container div: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34902

It works great! However, within each seperate div I have a menu that runs a script which allows the user to scroll through the menu by just hovering their mouse. It's called by: makeScrollable("div.menuWrapper", "div.Menu");

If I use the same class for each menu it works fine, however if I try to style a menu on one div to make it unique from the other and call both:
makeScrollable("div.menuWrapper", "div.Menu");
makeScrollable("div.menuWrapper2", "div.Menu2");

javascript will only run the makeScrollable function in the container div that was opened first in the swap. So if you swap to the other div the menu doesn't move.

Basically I need to be able to call the MakeScrollable function whenever one of the divs are swapped, but I have no idea where to place it or how exactly to modify the script.

EDIT: Correction: Actually it looks like the swap script is causing the child scripts to not function outside of Dreamweaver completely.

jscheuer1
02-05-2012, 04:42 PM
Many scripts will not initialize properly when the content they are trying to initialize is display: none; as is the case with the SEO Detail click Demo script you linked to. It hides the unseen details by making their display none.

However, you first must make sure that your multiple menus would work if the SEO Detail click Demo script were not used at all. If that works, you can try this updated version of the SEO Detail click Demo script that uses position and visibility to hide the unseen content:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<title>SEO Detail click Demo w/positioning</title>