PDA

View Full Version : Two fadeshows side by side not synced

jsmiles70
01-24-2012, 11:02 PM
Hi - newbie here. I've created a bit of a patchwork website, and have two fadeshows running side by side. I can't get the pictures to load and run at the identical speed. It's a before and after effect, so i really need them to synchronize.

I used photoshop to try and get the image KB as close as possible, but they're still not identical. I'm not sure if that was the problem.

Any suggestions? Please help.

Thanks.

jscheuer1
01-25-2012, 11:47 AM
It's not the KB size of the images that matter, those should be optimized for fastest loading, but they don't have to be the same because only the same image will be loaded at the exact same time.

We need another way to synchronize the slideshows.

Add this function (highlighted as shown) before the first on page fadeSlideShow call:

<script type="text/javascript">

fadeSlideShow.sync = function(){
if(!fadeSlideShow.othergal){
fadeSlideShow.othergal = this;
return;
}
var othergal = fadeSlideShow.othergal, thisgal = this;
function over(gal, e){
var o = (gal.setting.ismouseover = e.type === 'mouseenter')? 'show' : 'hide';
if(gal.setting.descreveal === 'ondemand'){gal.showhidedescpanel(o);}
}

this.setting.$wrapperdiv.bind('mouseenter mouseleave', function(e){over(othergal, e);});
othergal.setting.$wrapperdiv.bind('mouseenter mouseleave', function(e){over(thisgal, e);});
setTimeout(function(){thisgal.setting.playtimer = othergal.setting.playtimer = setTimeout(function(){
othergal.setting.displaymode.type = thisgal.setting.displaymode.type = 'auto';
thisgal.showslide('next'); othergal.showslide('next');}, thisgal.setting.displaymode.pause);}, 1.1 * this.setting.fadeduration);

};

var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
dimensions: [550, 460], //width/height of gallery in . . .