PDA

View Full Version : AJAX in JSP.. I Need Help

pj1479
12-19-2005, 09:50 AM
Hi All,
I am new to AJAX and JSP. I want to use ajax in my jsp page. can someone guide me.

Thanks in advance.

Twey
12-19-2005, 11:44 AM
You don't use AJAX on your JSP page, unless you're having it generate it or something equally odd. What one would generally do is have the AJAX page connect to the JSP page to retrieve dynamic content. There's an AJAX tutorial here (http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/AJAX:Getting_Started).

pj1479
12-20-2005, 06:23 AM
Hi Twey,
thanks a lot for ur help. I will try it now.
Paresh

smrithi
01-10-2008, 06:31 AM
find an example on using ajax with jsp at my blog http://newtechies.blogspot.com

Twey
01-10-2008, 09:40 AM
Not a very good example, I must say.

smrithi
01-22-2008, 10:13 AM
I must say that the site you redirected the newbie is not at all appropriate to the question he posed. The example I have given in the blog is actually doing the ajax thing with jsp. I have seen the tutorial of the link you have given. Its just the theory of what is ajax but a well-versed example is not there.

Twey
01-22-2008, 11:01 AM
You evidently didn't look very hard, then. It doesn't cover JSP, but I'm assuming that the poster is already aware of how to use JSP. It does, however, provide thorough coverage of the XMLHttpRequest object, walking the reader through the different steps required to get data and then bringing it all together with an example, as well as showing how to handle the data once retrieved.