PDA

View Full Version : Help with inline DIVs (I think anyhow)

Crim
12-15-2005, 04:46 AM
OK first off this is my first time trying to figure out CSS, I'm sure this will be blatently obvious from reading my attached code.

Essentially I'm trying to re-create the following layout using html/css. What I'm trying to recreate (http://crim.darksci.net/AS/site-layout.jpg)

I'm having issues with the main content box, I've gotten it to look pretty good in IE, but firefox comes out all weird.

The page is located here for you to view (http://crim.darksci.net/AS/index.php)

The headings "News" and "Links" appear correctly in IE, however they show up placed all wrong in FireFox. Can anyone help show me where I've gone wrong?

Attached are links to the code with .txt extension:
http://crim.darksci.net/AS/index.php.txt
http://crim.darksci.net/AS/style.css.txt

Thanks!

Crim
12-19-2005, 09:07 PM
*bump*

Any clue, this is still driving me crazy trying to figure out. Is it not proper to have multiple div's enclosed in one another?

billyboy
12-20-2005, 10:33 AM
Nothing wrong with nesting div inside one another.
First thing you want to do is add a doctype declaration to the top of your html pages, get rid of the extra meta tag for content type and insert the missing opening body tag.

You've got some unneeded divs, and floats going on all over the place when all thats really needed is positioning of two elements - the left hand column and the content on the right side of the main content. There's five main elements on the original page: main top, main left, main right, main bottom, and the left column. Assign each of those a div. Then you'll need one div wrapped around everything but the left column, and one div wrapped around main left and main right for positioning.
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title>Something</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">