PDA

View Full Version : CSS newbie having problems with IE vs Firefox

codemonkey
12-14-2005, 12:30 AM
Hi, firstly, thank you for any assistance you can lend.

I'm trying to position a navigation menu using css absolute positioning and the menu shows up in the correct location in firefox, but shows up about 25px lower in IE! This is driving me crazy! Any help would be GREATLY Appreciated and repaid with very good thoughts about my savior and positive karma.

I am a css newbie, and I'm sure there are many other great ways to layout this page, but i'm working on a deadline and don't have time to rework everything, so a solution that fixes just the positioning of this menu would be wonderful.

--------------------------

table.ddm1 {position: absolute;
top: 60px;
left: 0px;
height: 15px;
width: 700px;
font-size: 10px;
background-color: transparent;
z-index: 3;
font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica;
border:0px; margin:0px; padding:0px;
}

--
Solution provided by jscheuer1. Thanks jscheuer1!

table.ddm1 {position: absolute;
top: 60px!important; ((What Firefox reads))
top: 42px; ((What IE reads))
left: 0px;
height: 15px;
width: 700px;
font-size: 10px;
background-color: transparent;
z-index: 3;
font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica;
border:0px; margin:0px; padding:0px;
}

jscheuer1
12-14-2005, 10:20 AM
In all relevant style top declarations, you could use the !important hack. The way this works is to declare the style for FF with it and then the one for IE without it, ex:

#menu {
position:absolute;
top:300px!important;
top:275px;
}

In the above example FF will render the element with the id of 'menu' 25px lower than IE, if IE was already off by that amount, things would now line up well in both browsers.

A rewrite is a better idea, when you get the chance.

4bidden
12-14-2005, 03:53 PM
I never knew that was what the !important was for...thank you for that post!

codemonkey
12-14-2005, 04:46 PM
jscheuer1 <3,