PDA

View Full Version : Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.5) + IE8 or GC15.0



Sinister
11-09-2011, 12:57 PM
1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.5)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

The problem happens when the number of itens of the created menu is more than 500. From 500 itens (I think, the script is loosing itself), the tops itens menu does not work (it does not open, only the html is created). I am using these things below:

+ Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.5)
+ Browsers: IE8 or Google Chrome 15.0
+ jquery-1.4.1
+ <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7"/>
+ .NET Framework 3.5 + MasterPage.

But in FF works fine. Also works fine in all Browsers when the number of itens are little.
The identation of HTML menu is correct, because works in FF.

If somebody can help me, I thanks! :)

Regards,

ddadmin
11-10-2011, 05:15 AM
Firstly, try upgrading to the latest version of jQuery (in place of v1.4.1):


<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

Secondly, have you run the W3C Validator (http://validator.w3.org/) through the page to make sure the menu is well formed (with such a large menu, it's easy to miss something)?

Lastly, please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

Sinister
11-11-2011, 06:44 PM
Hello

Now, I did work in FF, GC and IE7 but still does not work in IE8. In IE8 only the last top menu item was showed, but does not work (the script).

What I did:

1) I did disable the shadow of the script, at this line:


shadow: {enable:false, offsetx:5, offsety:5},

Before, the shadow caused a bug in the layout of the last top menu item.


2) I did validate my HTML, as you said and it is perfect.

The upgrade version of jquery does not make the difference, the problem happens in both versions.

If I remove the meta tag

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7"/>
, works fine in IE8. If I put this tag, does not work in IE8.

Lastly: this apllication is hosted on internal server :(, but if you want I can put the start of the code HTML and the menu can be tested with any, since it contains some 500 itens (between <UL> and <LI>).




<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

<head>

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7"/>

<title></title>

<link href="/ddsmoothmenu/ddsmoothmenu-v.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="/ddsmoothmenu/ddsmoothmenu.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script src="/ddsmoothmenu/ddsmoothmenu.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">

/***********************************************
* Smooth Navigational Menu- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

ddsmoothmenu.init({
mainmenuid: "smoothmenu", //menu DIV id
orientation: 'h', //Horizontal or vertical menu: Set to "h" or "v"
classname: 'ddsmoothmenu', //class added to menu's outer DIV
contentsource: "markup" //"markup" or ["container_id", "path_to_menu_file"]
})

</script>

</head>

<body>


<div id="smoothmenu" class="ddsmoothmenu">
....
</div>





thank you by your attention,

ddadmin
11-12-2011, 08:04 AM
Is there a reason you're using a meta tag to force IE8 to emulate IE7?


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7"/>

? IE8 got its fair share of rendering issues, but that pales in comparison to IE7. I wouldn't be surprised if the issue is with IE7 scripting engine giving out due to the number of sub menus you have...

Sinister
11-17-2011, 06:42 PM
I am sending to you the link that contains the problem:
click here (http://www.gboex.com.br/Test_Menu/Test_Menu.html)

The problem is that not works the last top menu item "DIRSIS" in Internet Explorer 7.0. Their sub-levels do not work.

This page has been validated by w3c and works fine in the FF, GC and IE8, but I need that page works in IE7 too.

Thank you so much!