PDA

View Full Version : Removing numbers from navigation boxes

designer_D
10-28-2011, 11:51 PM
Hello,

Is there a way to remove the numbers from the links in this script:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/photoalbum.htm

I'm not a Javascript expert or anything, but I'm trying to look at the code and am trying different things so the squares shows up but without numbers but with no success. I just want to be able to click the squares and have it go to a new image without a number showing. Is that possibles?

Thanks!

jscheuer1
10-29-2011, 09:57 PM
If I understand what you're after, yes. Find this function in the photogallery.js script:

photogallery.prototype.createNav=function(gdiv, pdiv , ptext){
var instanceOfGallery=this
var navHTML=""
for (var i=0; i<this.pagecount; i++)
navHTML+='<a href="#navigate" rel="'+i+'">'+ptext[1]+(i+1)+'</a> ' //build sequential nav links
pdiv.innerHTML=ptext[0]+' '+navHTML
var navlinks=pdiv.getElementsByTagName("a")
navlinks[0].className="current" //Select first link by default
this.previouspage=navlinks[0] //Set previous clicked on link to current link for future ref
for (var i=0; i<navlinks.length; i++){
navlinks[i].onclick=function(){
instanceOfGallery.previouspage.className="" //"Unhighlight" last link clicked on...
this.className="current" //while "highlighting" currently clicked on flatview link (setting its class name to "selected"
instanceOfGallery.showpage(gdiv, this.getAttribute("rel"))
instanceOfGallery.previouspage=this //Set previous clicked on link to current link for future ref
return false
}
}
}

See that red (i+1) there? That's where the numbers are coming from. The script doesn't need them though. They're just there so people looking at it will know which number 'page' they are clicking for. But I guess you don't really need them, it should be fairly obvious to folks that they're in order.