PDA

View Full Version : Ghost menu in IE



Inky1231
10-19-2011, 06:00 PM
1) Script Title:
Flexmenu
2) Script URL (on DD):
(http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/flexdropdown.htm
3) Describe problem:

OK on my site http://www.dacc.edu/orientations/videos.php
when you view it in FF it is fine, but in IE you get a "ghost" menu at first. If you mouse off then mouse on again it is gone. It seems to be calling another script or something but I can't figure out where.

jscheuer1
10-19-2011, 07:05 PM
I'm not seeing it in IE 9 or 8. Was that the exact page or do I have to navigate elsewhere to see it? I did see one drop down on that page.

In any case, you might want to try a standards invoking DOCTYPE. To do so, change:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

to:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

Inky1231
10-19-2011, 07:08 PM
I'm not seeing it in IE 9 or 8. Was that the exact page or do I have to navigate elsewhere to see it? I did see one drop down on that page.

In any case, you might want to try a standards invoking DOCTYPE. To do so, change:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

to:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
I will try changing the doctype but yes that is the exact page if you hove over Orientation videos then go down to Blackboard Training Course, that is when it happens, but only on the initial load.

Inky1231
10-19-2011, 07:13 PM
IT worked! I had been going over my code thinking that there had to be some crazy remnant left of something else!

jscheuer1
10-19-2011, 09:39 PM
Just by way of explanation, if the DOCTYPE doesn't invoke standards, IE often will render in an unexpected way. Other browsers pretty much follow standards even when they're not explicitly called for by the DOCTYPE.

It's a little more complicated than that, but as a general sort of 'rule of thumb' it often holds true, especially where jQuery based scripts are involved.

Inky1231
10-20-2011, 12:37 AM
John,
I really appreciate the assistance. All of my coding skills are pretty much self-taught (except PHP) so sometimes it gets the better of me :) especially when trying to do things I have never done before. Been trying to get the DACC website fancied up a bit and it is a slow process and these glitches just slow me down a bit more :D