PDA

View Full Version : Drop-down menu drift in IE



Inky1231
10-18-2011, 02:27 PM
1) Script Title: Halfmoon tabs (Example5)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/droptabmenu.htm


3) Describe problem:
This is my site http://www.dacc.edu/ar/admissions/

I have combined the drop tab menu example 5 with a standard HTML menu to create a three level (and four level )menu . This work great in Firefox and Chrome but I have a problem in IE the 3rd and (I assume) the 4th level menus are disconnected (drifted right) from the second level menu, as such you are unable to scroll over the third level menu because it disappears.

If you look at the drop down menu, a couple of items (residency rules and Drop and withdrawal) are supposed to have submenus off of those. Also the other problem I am having is that there is a third level menu off of the withdrawing from a class selection but the menu does not work in IE, but works in Firefox.

Can someone please help me with this?

ddadmin
10-19-2011, 12:24 AM
If you wish to extend a tab menu with multiple levels of drop downs beyond just 2 levels, it's a lot easier to just do the following instead:
.
1) Start out with a bare bones tab menu with no drop downs by default. You can use any menu you like, though here's one to consider: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/item/half-moon-tab-menu/

2) Then, extend the desired tab(s) with a multiple level drop down menu by using a script such as Flex Drop Down Menu (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/flexdropdown.htm). It works with any anchor link or parent menu, in this case, the later. Inside the menu item in question, simply insert a data-flexmenu attribute to associate it with a drop down menu:


<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com" data-flexmenu="flexmenu1">Dynamic Drive</a>

See the Flex Menu page for more info.

Inky1231
10-19-2011, 12:55 AM
Thank you I shall try that in the morning :) this thing has been driving me batty for days!

Inky1231
10-19-2011, 03:50 PM
Ok so far got partial success.
the extra menu works like a dream on both FF and IE only one small probelem when i started adding styling some of the drop down items vanished and only on of them are showing,

http://www.dacc.edu/Ann/test2.php

Never Mind fixed it :)!

Inky1231
10-19-2011, 05:16 PM
Thank you very much for pointing me to that code it works like a dream!