PDA

View Full Version : FadeInSlideshow not working in IE



Ratio
09-08-2011, 09:43 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.4)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: Not working within a spry accordion in any version of IE. Works beautifully in FF, Safari, Opera.

http://www.ratiotheatre.org/indexslidetest.html

please bare with my messy code . . . I apologize. :confused:
Any hints will be greatly appreciated!

jscheuer1
09-08-2011, 09:52 PM
From the source code of the page:


<script type="text/javascript">

var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
dimensions: [700, 300], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
imagearray: [
["http://www.ratiotheatre.org/images/slide/Dining.jpg", "current.html", "", ""],
["http://www.ratiotheatre.org/images/slide/GMO.jpg", "GMO.html", "", ""],
["http://www.ratiotheatre.org/images/slide/DS.jpg","dinnerandshow.html"],
["http://www.ratiotheatre.org/images/slide/Season.jpg","boxoffice.html"]//<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
],
displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:6000, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
persist: true, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
fadeduration: 1000, //transition duration (milliseconds)
descreveal: "none",
togglerid: ""
})


</script>

The highlighted image is corrupt. Others skip over it. But in IE that breaks the script. Remove the entire line or fix the image.

There could also be other problems, but that much needs to be fixed first. You may need to empty the browser cache and/or refresh the page to see any changes.

Ratio
09-08-2011, 10:22 PM
WOW! You are THE man!
I deleted the line from the array just for a test and viola!
What may the corruption in the image be? They were all created from the same file. Maybe just a re-jpeg-compressing might do the trick.
Thank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank youThank you!

jscheuer1
09-09-2011, 12:29 AM
I'd try saving/creating it again. I downloaded it. I was able to open it in Paint Shop Pro, but its a lot smaller (160x69) than the others, looks like it might be a thumbnail. And it's larger in bytes - more than twice as large - than the GMO.jpg, which is larger by dimensions (700x300). It (Dining.jpg), when viewed in a text editor has a lot of non-jpeg code in it, a sort of xml prologue that GMO.jpg doesn't have, and that I've never seen in an image file before. Looks like it was put there by something that also stamped it with:


Adobe XMP Core 4.2.2-c063 53.352624, 2008/07/30-18:05:41

Ratio
09-09-2011, 01:49 AM
John,
Thank you again!
Yeah, I just re-saved the image with the Optimized jpg scan format and it took care of it.
The XMP Core data was probably a remnant from copying vectorized images back and forth from iNDesign and Photoshop. Just didn't rasterize properly . . . or something :)

ps. Thanks for turning me on to The Ocean Conservancy. I'm diggin' their mission and the work they're doing. I think I will give a small "Thanks."