PDA

View Full Version : Anylink dropdown menu works offline but not online



southerncrow
09-03-2011, 01:55 AM
1) Script Title: AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu v2.0

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem: Drop Down Menu works offline but not when the page is loaded online.

The webpage is http://www.mizbiz.com.au/

Thank You.

azoomer
09-03-2011, 02:28 AM
This link:
<script type="text/javascript" src="MenuFiles/anylinkmenu.js">
leads to an error page.
Make sure the anylink.js file is at the specified location.
The same goes for the menucontents.js and the anylinkmenu.css

djr33
09-03-2011, 02:58 AM
The vast majority of cases like this involve missing files or incorrect paths. Double check everything and it will probably work. (Note that in cases where one file is missing, others may be as well, such as images, so be sure to check it all, but of course the file that azoomer noticed.)


Note that online (but not necessarily on all operating systems locally) capitalization does matter. For this reason it is always a good idea to use only lowercase-- 'menufiles' instead of 'MenuFiles'. It's your choice, but it can be confusing and very difficult to notice if you use 'm' instead of 'M' for example.

southerncrow
09-03-2011, 03:27 AM
The problem turned out to be capitalisation of the folder name. Odd how it didn't matter offline. . . . . Thanks for your help guys.

jscheuer1
09-03-2011, 03:37 AM
Seems to be working now. However, this:


<script type="text/javascript">
//anylinkmenu.init("menu_anchors_class") //Pass in the CSS class of anchor links (that contain a sub menu)
anylinkmenu.init("menuanchorclass")
</script>

appears twice (once in the head, and again near the end of the page) in the source code of the page. Ideally it should only appear once. The instance in the head is sufficient.