PDA

View Full Version : how do i make a form section



stefansmith2003
12-04-2005, 10:21 PM
how can i create a form section on a tripod site

p.s. im new so go easy on me

cr3ative
12-05-2005, 09:49 AM
What do you want the form to do? Email form?

cr3

stefansmith2003
12-05-2005, 01:21 PM
Well Never Mind My Acount Got Deleted Lol But I Was Trying To Put A Form Or Some Thing That People Can Chat On And Leave Me Comments

cr3ative
12-05-2005, 03:09 PM
I See You Like Writing In This Style, So I Shall As Well So As Not To Confuse You.

You Will Need A Database And A Server Side Language To Do This, Neither Of Which Tripod Provides. Therefore, You Cannot.

-cr3

stefansmith2003
12-06-2005, 01:08 AM
no i was just board so I Was typing Like This lol ya im use Macromedia Dreamweaver 8 to make my site can that be used in any way???

mwinter
12-06-2005, 02:14 PM
I See You Like Writing In This Style, So I Shall As Well So As Not To Confuse You.:mad:


You Will Need A Database And A Server Side Language To Do This, Neither Of Which Tripod Provides.That seems to depend on which Tripod service you use. The US/generic service (tripod.lycos.com (http://www.tripod.lycos.com/)) provides CGI/Perl (Perl 5). However, the UK and other european Tripod services (tripod.lycos.co.uk (http://www.tripod.lycos.co.uk/)) support PHP 4.3 and MySQL.



im use Macromedia Dreamweaver 8 to make my site can that be used in any way???Dreamweaver is a glorified text editor. It is what's provided by your host that's important.

Mike

cr3ative
12-06-2005, 04:46 PM
Wow, Lycos has improved vastly since I last looked at what they had to offer.

(From .co.uk)



>> PHP 4.1
>> PHP Libraries (Send mail, PDF, JPEG, PNG)
>> MySQL data base with PHP MyAdmin, an easy web-based administration for MySQL databases


That's quite an impressive feature set for free hosting.
My apologies, Mike.

mwinter
12-06-2005, 06:35 PM
Wow, Lycos has improved vastly since I last looked at what they had to offer.I'm not sure when they added these features, but it's been a while. I'm sure I've mentioned it before.


PHP 4.1That is out-of-date. The PHP4U (http://www.tripod.lycos.co.uk/build/php4u/) mentions 4.3, and the server headers indicate 4.3.8.


That's quite an impressive feature set for free hosting.Yeah, it's not bad. However, like most free hosts, they stuff junk into markup when adding their adverts. I have no problem with them requiring banners, but it would be nice if they inserted them intelligently. :(

Mike

stefansmith2003
12-07-2005, 02:02 PM
well they gave me the boot so now im hosting with freewebsitehosting.com