PDA

View Full Version : :: All Levels Navigational Menu not displaying ALL top level menus.



vmehta
08-25-2011, 01:46 AM
1) Script Title: All Levels Navigational Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/

3) Describe problem:

I have installed this script on several websites, and it works great! However, I am hawing problems with the script in the URL http://store.winnicksupply.com - the main drop down menu has eight top-level menu items, and several entries in two layers below them. On the main page, you can see the eight items - however, the menu shows only the first six menu items. SOMETIMES, secially when you first go into the website, you can see all eight, but without the "down" arrows....when the menu refreshes to place the "down" arrows, the last two menu items ("Concrete assemblies" and "Welding") disappear!

I have tried changing the main menu names and the main menu order - it still does not show all the items - sometimes, it shows seven of the eight menu items, somtimes only six.....

Please help!

Vinay Mehta
vmehta@yahoo.com

ajfmrf
08-25-2011, 02:32 AM
I took a quick look at that page and it is huge!

Lots of stuff missplaced ans multiple times too.

I would have put all of the javascript in seprate files and link them.

I also saw two different css pages linked.I would try and put them in one page later once you get this worked out.

Did you ever get the menu to work and look correctly on a page by itself?

I would try that first and then go from there.

Meanwhile I am going to try and isolate the menu and look at it.This will take a while.

Bud

vmehta
08-25-2011, 12:40 PM
ajfmrf,

Thanks for your response! I do have this working correctly in two other websites - both of them are almost the same as this website in code (though not in content). These URLs are:

http://store.ethnicfoodsco.com
http://store.indianfoodsco.com

I will look over your other suggestions, and try to incorporate them, too.

Thanks! Please let me know if you find the reason why this particular implementation is not functioning properly.

Vinay Mehta.

azoomer
08-25-2011, 08:28 PM
Hi Vinay! I agree with ajfmrf, the page is confusing and needs a cleanup.
I think the problem is somehow related to z-index. Seems you have so many menupoints that a javascript is somehow generating a negative z-index for the last entries.
What i tried was to go in the ddsmoothmenu.js file and find this part


$headers.each(function(i){ //loop through each LI header
var $curobj=$(this).css({zIndex: 200-i}) //reference current LI header
var $subul=$(this).find('ul:eq(0)').css({display:'block'})
$subul.data('timers', {})
this._dimensions={w:this.offsetWidth, h:this.offsetHeight, subulw:$subul.outerWidth(), subulh:$subul.outerHeight()}
this.istopheader=$curobj.parents("ul").length==1? true : false //is top level header?
$subul.css({top:this.istopheader && setting.orientation!='v'? this._dimensions.h+"px" : 0})
$curobj.children("a:eq(0)").css(this.istopheader? {paddingRight: smoothmenu.arrowimages.down[2]} : {}).append( //add arrow images
'<img src="'+ (this.istopheader && setting.orientation!='v'? smoothmenu.arrowimages.down[1] : smoothmenu.arrowimages.right[1])
+'" class="' + (this.istopheader && setting.orientation!='v'? smoothmenu.arrowimages.down[0] : smoothmenu.arrowimages.right[0])
+ '" style="border:0;" />'
)
Changing the red z-index from 100 to 200 seems to do the trick.
I'm not sure if this is correct to do, or if it will create other problems, but you can try it and see if it works.

vmehta
08-26-2011, 05:24 AM
azoomer,

Thanks! That DID it - it works correcttly now.

Thank you so very much!

Vinay Mehta.