PDA

View Full Version : flexdropdownmenu IE 8 is no bueno



ijwk
08-13-2011, 08:09 PM
1) Script Title: flexdropdownmenu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/flexdropdown.htm

3) Describe problem: code works fine in firefox:3.6.18, chrome 13.0.782.112, opera 11.5 but IE 8.0.7601.17514 does not work.

The menu adds about 15 pixels of white to the right of the menu option on each level I expand to. Image of what I am referring to can be found here:

http://www.smactok.com/images/menuproblem.jpg

Let me know if I should add this as a defect......

jscheuer1
08-13-2011, 09:59 PM
Not happening for me on the demo page. Does it for you?

If not, it's probably just something about the page you're working on. Does it have a standards invoking DOCTYPE?

If you want more help:

Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

ijwk
08-14-2011, 06:13 AM
John thanks for the note. I did go look at the example and it is working correctly in IE8.

I looked at the css and saw I had not resized the IE tag. I resized this and I am in good shape....or at least passed that issue.

I do see another issue using IE8 please review the following link
http://www.smactok.com/ (http://www.smactok.com)

Move your mouse of MLB and then drive into the AL NL. it takes a while for the screen to redraw and 96% of the time I have to move my mouse through each sub menu to see the text.

Another issue I have is sometimes the menus go up instead of down and you cannot read all the options as they are off the screen. I am assuming this is a css item and will continue to search through the forums for this.

thanks,

jscheuer1
08-14-2011, 02:10 PM
Try changing this (first thing in the source code of the page):


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">

to:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

Works here.

ijwk
08-14-2011, 05:27 PM
that fixed it. Thanks!!