PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Reload iframe on select tab

Luys
08-10-2011, 06:01 PM
Hi all!

Yesterday I noted in these pages an issue which I will summarize below:

I made a "mother" page with three tabs, each of which contains an iframe with the respective "child" page.

I need to update the iframe of the second tab when this second tab is selected (at least only once), because being a "hidden" content when the whole page loads, there are items that fail to be drawn.

So, by trial and error (I have no knowledge of javascript) I have come to the point where I'm apparently about to achieve my goal. However, I need a little help and some advice.

1) This is my code:

<ul class="tabs" style="position:relative;top:-100px;margin-top:0px">
<li><a class="main" href="#">First tab</a></li>
<li><a class="" href="#" onClick="javascript:setTimeout(function() {window.location.href = 'iframefile.htm';}, 1000);return false;">Second tab</a></li>
<li><a class="" href="#">Third tab</a></li>
</ul>

I added the onClick sentence above, and the behavior is as expected: the tab is showed with all the content "visible" and then redirect to the "iframe file". Next I try first to insert a variation of target="_blank" to be sure of the internal mechanism of the code and also a "target="whatever" with the name of this second iframe.

My question is: Wich is the correct way to insert the "target + name of iframe" element in this formula? Is there anything wrong in its conception or as written?

2) At the head of the three "child" pages I have also the following code which means that if someone comes to any of these pages without going through the main page, it loads immediately. It works like a charm!

<script language='javascript'>try { if (top == self) {top.location.href='index.html'; } } catch(er) { } </script>