PDA

View Full Version : Mega Menu questions



lio
08-05-2011, 09:02 AM
1) Script Title: DD Mega Menu

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddmegamenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

a) The mega menu can be droped down to the left or the right of the anchor with a defined width. Would it be possible to have a droped down mega menu with the width of the main menu, or a defined width centered in the website ? (I hope it is clear :))

b) I try to give a color to the text with link in the droped down megamenu... and it does not work :confused:

Thanks for your help :)

lio
08-05-2011, 12:11 PM
For the text color in the megamenu I have found, it's under
.mega a
in the css file :o

ddadmin
08-06-2011, 06:24 PM
Would it be possible to have a droped down mega menu with the width of the main menu

Hmm I'm not sure I understand. You can easily adjust the width of the drop down menu using CSS, as the markup for the menus is just regular HTML defined on the page...

lio
08-08-2011, 12:36 PM
You can adjust the width of the drop down menu, but it starts from the item in the main menu, direction left or right. The idea was to have always the same container for the drop down men, That container would have the width of all the menu.
But maybe it's not a good idea :rolleyes:

Rambaldi
08-12-2011, 06:38 PM
I think i have the same problem.

To (try to) solve it, on the ".solidblockmenu li a" part of the css i commented the "float: left;" line, and the menu was centered.

The problem basically is that was lost a lot of configurations like the space between the options of the main menu, the menu height, etc...

is that any way to center the main menu? This option would be good for websites that have few options for the main menu.

Mike Dragonetti
08-15-2011, 12:27 AM
Hi,

http://www.bayvillekofc.org/ddMegaMenu/sample3.html

1) I'm trying to center the navigation. I've also checked the css sheets and tried all the "aligns" I could, but I can't get anything to work.

2) Also on the navigation, it works fine in Firefox, but "cuts in half" in IE.

Can someone "view source" this and tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Gratefully (again!)

Mike

ddadmin
08-15-2011, 05:48 AM
With regards to centering the menu, please be specific- do you guys mean centering the main menu bar (always visible on the page) that triggers the mega drop down menus, or the later (visible after mouseover or click)? For the former, firstly, it's important to note that the menu bar itself is just an arbitrary piece of HTML you define and customize yourself to act as the trigger for the drop down menus. This could be a menu bar, a text link, image link etc. With that said then, how to center the menu bar isn't really a DD Mega Menu script question, but one on general HTML/CSS. As someone already mentioned, you can try centering the bar by removing "float:left" from its CSS. Doing that may unravel the look of the menu however, so you may want to instead just start out with a fresh menu bar that doesn't rely on CSS's float property, such as this one (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/item/thick_underline_menu/).

Rambaldi
08-15-2011, 04:37 PM
I was refering to the main menu.

With that said, i will style the menu without the float property.

Thanks for the answer.

sinisterkid
09-12-2011, 06:49 PM
I was wondering if you got this to work Rimbaldi? I believe you are trying to do what I would like to do.
You can view my menu at http://mightycleverbrand.info/about
The main menu bar includes the links "problems" and "solutions" which activate the mega menu when you mouseover. Right now the mega menu drops down from the right edge of its parent link. However, I would like the mega menu to drop down from the full width of the main menu bar when you mouseover both "problems" and "solutions."
Attached images show what I would like to do.

lio
09-12-2011, 08:59 PM
It's exactly what I tryed to explain :)

sinisterkid
09-12-2011, 11:13 PM
ddAdmin, what about the latter? (visible after mouseover) View my entry "Full Width" for a more detailed explanation. Thank you.

FrickenTrevor
09-12-2011, 11:47 PM
It's exactly what I tryed to explain :)

Yeah just change the width in the CSS file

sinisterkid
09-13-2011, 05:01 PM
Yeah just change the width in the CSS file

Changing the width won't do what we want. Please see the attached images in my previous post. We need to change the position of the drop down menu, not just the width.

sinisterkid
10-06-2011, 10:32 PM
Worth the $5. http://codecanyon.net/item/css3-mega-drop-down-menu/126387

citybee
10-07-2011, 04:54 AM
I'm new in this Dhtml, and I try to modify my menu into DHTML. But when I copy the code into it, I can see it's working in Dreamweaver, but not in IE 8. Only half of the menu appear. And it will appear if I copy both rel=" menu" in two of the menu tag.
Could anyone help me to solve. Thanks.

Below is my sample file.
http://www.naturalhealthfarm.com/index_dynamic_menu.html

ddadmin
10-08-2011, 06:24 PM
Citybee:
In IE8 the menu looks fine to me actually. One thing to try regardless is to remove the top xml declaration at the top of your page:


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>