PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Fade-in slideshow problem on Safari (mac)

fifty50
08-02-2011, 02:51 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.4)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: In Safari (Mac), if the mouse is positioned over where the slideshow is to appear when the page is loaded, nothing happens UNTIL you mouse out.
I tried pre-loading the images for the slideshow but didn't seem to help.
Works fine LOCALLY.
Works fine after you get the script to run once. But if you empty the cache, problem returns.
Here's a link: http://www.alvesdesign.ca/test/ I create the scenario by loading another page, emptying the cache, pasting the link into the address bar, placing the mouse over the image area, then hitting return.
Script seems to function on other browsers including Safari on PC (!?!!)

Any help would be appreciated. Be kind, I'm a code newbie. Thanx.

jscheuer1
08-02-2011, 04:37 PM
The script already does an incremental preload.

I have no Safari Mac to test on. But I was able to duplicate the problem in Firefox and Opera under Win 7. However, as you stated, there was no problem in Safari Win. I also found no problem in IE 9. Try out this modified version (replace fadeslideshow.js with it). Make sure to make the change on the page and make sure to clear the cache to see if it takes effect:

What it does is wait until the first image is loaded before instituting the mouseover pause. It fixed it here for the browsers mentioned and I was able to switch repeatedly back and fourth between script versions to assure it wasn't a fluke in those browsers.

I also removed:

img9 = new Image();
img9.src = "alves11.jpg";
img10 = new Image();
img10.src = "alves12.jpg";
img11 = new Image();
img11.src = "alves13.jpg";
img12 = new Image();
img12.src = "alves14.jpg";
img13 = new Image();
img13.src = "alves15.jpg";
img14 = new Image();
img14.src = "alves16.jpg";
img15 = new Image();