PDA

View Full Version : JavaScript / CSS issue with IE and NOT firefox...

cloude000
11-16-2005, 06:17 PM
Hey there, I'm a developer who is using a portlets to generated tagged data to a page, and then using these tags to enable highlighting of these terms via JavaScript and CSS.... this works great in Firefox, but for some reason I can't get the highlighting to display with IE6... any ideas?

the css :

<style>
.off {
}

.qtOn {
background: yellow;
}

.fiOn {
background: lightblue;
}
</style>

the script ::

<script language="JavaScript">
function change(id, newClass) {
tagged=document.getElementsByTagName(id);

for(i = 0 ; i < tagged.length ; i++){
tagged[i].className=newClass;
}
}
</script>

the call to turn on highlighting for the <qt></qt> tagged stuff :

<a href="javascript:;" onClick="change('qt', 'qtOn');">on</a>

sample of tagged text :

... in their latest <fi>financial</fi> report, <qt>IBM</qt> stated that the net project <fi>revenue</fi> was ...

Thanks!

jscheuer1
11-16-2005, 07:26 PM
From what I can tell, IE doesn't support invented tag names as tags in this type of situation. Better to use a real tag like span and access the elements by their class names like:

function change(oldClass, newClass) {
var tagged=document.getElementsByTagName('span');
for(var i = 0 ; i < tagged.length ; i++)
if (tagged[i].className==oldClass)
tagged[i].className=newClass;
}

and:

in their latest <span class="off_fi">financial</span> report, <span class="off_qt">IBM</span> stated that the net project <span class="off_fi">revenue</span> was

The style could be like so but, you really shouldn't need to define the off values in the style section if they have no settings:

<style type="text/css">
.off_fi, .off_qt {
}

.qtOn {
}

.fiOn {
background: lightblue;
}
</style>