PDA

View Full Version : Shock Wave Text



ageier
03-03-2011, 03:14 AM
I copied the code that appears on this page that is there but not working ... Can you give me a solution?
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex10/shockwave.htm
:(:(:(:(:(

djr33
03-03-2011, 03:59 AM
Please format your posts politely. It will make more people want to help you.

This was also posted in the wrong section, so I will move it now. And in the wrong format:
See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

This is not meant to be a complaint, but to inform you so that you can get the help you need.


Most importantly:
We cannot help you without a link to your page. If the demo page works, then we need to know what you did wrong (or just differently) so that we can find the problem and help you solve it.
Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

ageier
03-03-2011, 04:12 AM
Script: Shock Wave text
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex10/shockwave.htm

does not work, try copying and pasting code in a html page, and will not work

traq
03-03-2011, 04:16 AM
I get a working instance of the script when I copy-and-paste.

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

ageier
03-03-2011, 04:24 AM
Script: Shock Wave text ... Does not work
http://www.laverdadeterna.com/shock_wave_text.htm

[Nicolas]
03-03-2011, 04:31 AM
What browser are you using? I only have FF, so I cannot see if it will work or not, but this will one work with the following:

IE5+ Opr7+
:D

djr33
03-03-2011, 04:52 AM
It appears to have been copied to your site correctly. But the <html> tag must go at the top of the page. I do not know if this is required for the script to work properly, but the code is now invalid HTML.
You may also add a doctype to make the page valid, and that might help.

This script only works in Internet Explorer and Opera, and I don't have either browser to test. Do you want a script that only works in those two browsers?


--
Hola! Queremos ayudarse, y por desgracia mucha gente aqui no pueden comprender español. Por eso si no se puede explicar claramente en inglés, por favor explicar en los dos, en inglés y español tambien para ayudarnos a comprenderse (porque algunos aqui pueden leer español o pueden, si és necessario, traducir para los otros).
Pero siempre, si no escribe toda la información, no podemos ayudar nunca. Más información és siempre mejor.
Gracias y bienvenido.

traq
03-03-2011, 05:04 AM
hmmm... try commenting out the first two lines in the startmotor function:

function startmotor(p){
// if (!document.all)
// return
var loop = motor(p);
if (window.time)
{clearInterval(time)}
if (klaar == tekst[s].length)
{
klaar = 0;
veran = 1;
tel = 0;
var time = setTimeout("startmotor(" +(p+1) + ")", speed_between_messages);
}else
{
var time =setTimeout("startmotor(" +(p+1) + ")", 50);
}

}
don't know what's going on there, but it gets it started when I try it.



for clarification, when I tried it out earlier, I copied the script from the demo source code, which does not include those two lines... odd...

ageier
03-03-2011, 05:19 AM
and what would be the solution??

traq
03-03-2011, 05:28 AM
did you try commenting out those two lines in the script?

change this:
function startmotor(p){
if (!document.all)
return
var loop = motor(p);
if (window.time)
{clearInterval(time)}
if (klaar == tekst[s].length)
{
klaar = 0;
veran = 1;
tel = 0;
var time = setTimeout("startmotor(" +(p+1) + ")", speed_between_messages);
}else
{
var time =setTimeout("startmotor(" +(p+1) + ")", 50);
}

}to this
function startmotor(p){
// if (!document.all)
// return
var loop = motor(p);
if (window.time)
{clearInterval(time)}
if (klaar == tekst[s].length)
{
klaar = 0;
veran = 1;
tel = 0;
var time = setTimeout("startmotor(" +(p+1) + ")", speed_between_messages);
}else
{
var time =setTimeout("startmotor(" +(p+1) + ")", 50);
}

}

ageier
03-03-2011, 05:31 AM
yesssssssss..... works .... many thanks

djvk87
03-03-2011, 05:37 AM
The script works but only in Internet Explorer, Firefox simply doesn't display it.

Also you removed the credit to the Author which is against the Usage Terms.

Edit: Didn't noticed your post that it was working until after I posted ^_^'

ageier
03-03-2011, 11:24 PM
How do you change the color?..

ageier
03-04-2011, 12:28 AM
How to change text color?

djr33
03-04-2011, 01:54 AM
You can modify this tag:
<div ID="idee"></div>

Add CSS if you'd like, or you can style it like this:
<div ID="idee" style="color:red;"></div>

ageier
03-04-2011, 03:10 AM
Thankssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ageier
03-04-2011, 04:38 AM
And .. How to put a link in each text?

djr33
03-04-2011, 04:59 AM
That isn't part of this script. You would need to modify the Javascript code to generate <a> tags with the text. There's no easy way to do it otherwise. And I don't think it's worth the time for a script that only works in about 1/3 of browsers.

ageier
03-04-2011, 03:22 PM
No how. can you help me please

djr33
03-04-2011, 04:04 PM
I explained before:

And I don't think it's worth the time for a script that only works in about 1/3 of browsers.

You can try to do this yourself. You will need to learn Javascript.

ageier
03-04-2011, 04:23 PM
:( :( :(

[Nicolas]
03-04-2011, 05:56 PM
I don't understand what you need done. You mean you want a link in each letter of a sentence, entire div, or what?

ageier
03-04-2011, 09:08 PM
I want to put a link where the text says "Click here"
ENTER HERE: http://www.ministeriolve.org/shock_wave_text.htm

traq
03-04-2011, 09:36 PM
do you need each phrase to have a different link? If every phrase can have the same link, you can simply wrap the link around the <div>:


<a href="all/links/lead/here.html"><div ID="idee"></div></a>
otherwise, as Daniel says, you'd have to re-write the script.

ageier
03-05-2011, 01:12 AM
That's perfect ... Just when passing above the dark blue text is the link, Is there any way to change the color when you move the mouse up?

djr33
03-05-2011, 01:40 AM
You can use CSS or style tags like I suggested earlier. Apply them to the <div> or <a> tag as needed. Google "change link color".

[Nicolas]
03-06-2011, 12:00 AM
Change the color of the shockwave text onmouseup you mean?