PDA

View Full Version : Preload conveyor belt images



Jungleman
11-13-2005, 05:08 AM
Hi there,

The conveyor belt slide show works great but even with a broad-band connection, the images take a while to load. It seems like they preload already since the conveyor starts and all the images are there. So is there a way to have an image or graphic that alerts the viewer that something will be happening in that space? For Flash sites I have seen a little bar that indicates the page is loading. Is there something similar I can do with the conveyor belt script?


I have a demo so you can see what I mean: Jungle Photos test (http://www.junglephotos.com/portalpagetest.shtml)

jscheuer1
11-13-2005, 07:25 PM
54,404 bytes, that is size of just the Africa image. Using xat.com's Image Optimizer Pro I was able to compress it to 9,539 bytes with virtually no perceptible loss of quality. This could easily be the trouble as far as load time goes.

However, it appears as if there is something else delaying the appearance of the slides. They will not appear until the page is loaded so, if something else is delaying the load (it may just be the slide images themselves) find that and fix it. Some common things that can do that are nested tables and other large (by byte size) images on the page, complex scripts, flash or other media.

Jungleman
11-14-2005, 01:33 AM
Hi Mad Prof. Thanks for the suggestion. I suspect it is the large file size of each of the images. I will try the file compression you recommend. :)

venus_stv
01-24-2006, 12:38 PM
I want only to add that I found a good SWF Compressor-Decompressor. http://www.*************