PDA

View Full Version : Site Check in Safari Please



whiskey3
11-12-2005, 01:47 AM
Can anybody tell me why this javascript slideshow script works in Safari

http://www.moldex.com/foamplugs.htm

and this one doesn't?

http://www.moldex.com/unitedstatesproducts.htm

Is there something wrong with the slideshow script in the 2nd link that doesn't make it work in Safari?

Thanks.

jscheuer1
11-12-2005, 04:50 AM
The one that works uses document.getElementById to access elements for dynamic effects, similarly other methods used in it are either cross browser or employed in such a way that they will be ignored by browsers that do not support them. The one that does not work uses the implied document collection, document.all. This is only valid in IE and a few other fairly minor browsers the most notable of which is Opera. However, the one that does not work also uses other methods that only IE supports, the object.filters collection styles and methods, and does so in a way that will cause errors in browsers that do not support them. To the best of my knowledge, Safari supports neither document.all nor, certainly not, the object.filters methods.

whiskey3
11-14-2005, 03:26 AM
Do you know a way how I can fix this script? What do I have to do to the code?

jscheuer1
11-14-2005, 06:08 AM
I already answered that question here (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showpost.php?p=20363&postcount=2) for you. The code in that reply does not address the flash as your reply in that thread indicates you thought at the time. Reread my post carefully in that regard, especially (emphasis added):


The javascript animation uses IE proprietary filters. It will not work in any other browsers. It can be modified to degrade to an ordinary non-fading slideshow. Replace the three 'runslideshow' functions with these:

By degrade I mean that it will still fade in IE but (since other browsers cannot fade like that) it will (or should) work as a normal slideshow in them (tested in FF). I say should, especially in respect to Safari, which (having no access to a Mac) I cannot test on. It should though because, the methods used are so basic.