PDA

View Full Version : IE & Firefox Issues



jmonroe
12-23-2010, 05:44 PM
Script works right in Chrome but not IE/Firefox. Error is contentdivs[...].style is null or not an object. Line 131 Char 2 Code 0 slider.js

//** Featured Content Slider script- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library: http://www.dynamicdrive.com.

var featuredcontentslider={

//3 variables below you can customize if desired:
ajaxloadingmsg: '<div style="margin: 20px 0 0 20px"><img src="loading.gif" /> Fetching slider Contents. Please wait...</div>',
bustajaxcache: true, //bust caching of external ajax page after 1st request?
enablepersist: false, //persist to last content viewed when returning to page?

settingcaches: {}, //object to cache "setting" object of each script instance

jumpTo:function(fcsid, pagenumber){ //public function to go to a slide manually.
this.turnpage(this.settingcaches[fcsid], pagenumber)
},

ajaxconnect:function(setting){
var page_request = false
if (window.ActiveXObject){ //Test for support for ActiveXObject in IE first (as XMLHttpRequest in IE7 is broken)
try {
page_request = new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP")
}
catch (e){
try{
page_request = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP")
}
catch (e){}
}
}
else if (window.XMLHttpRequest) // if Mozilla, Safari etc
page_request = new XMLHttpRequest()
else
return false
var pageurl=setting.contentsource[1]
page_request.onreadystatechange=function(){
featuredcontentslider.ajaxpopulate(page_request, setting)
}
document.getElementById(setting.id).innerHTML=this.ajaxloadingmsg
var bustcache=(!this.bustajaxcache)? "" : (pageurl.indexOf("?")!=-1)? "&"+new Date().getTime() : "?"+new Date().getTime()
page_request.open('GET', pageurl+bustcache, true)
page_request.send(null)
},

ajaxpopulate:function(page_request, setting){
if (page_request.readyState == 4 && (page_request.status==200 || window.location.href.indexOf("http")==-1)){
document.getElementById(setting.id).innerHTML=page_request.responseText
this.buildpaginate(setting)
}
},

buildcontentdivs:function(setting){
var alldivs=document.getElementById(setting.id).getElementsByTagName("div")
for (var i=0; i<alldivs.length; i++){
if (this.css(alldivs[i], "contentdiv", "check")){ //check for DIVs with class "contentdiv"
setting.contentdivs.push(alldivs[i])
alldivs[i].style.display="none" //collapse all content DIVs to begin with
}
}
},

buildpaginate:function(setting){
this.buildcontentdivs(setting)
var sliderdiv=document.getElementById(setting.id)
var pdiv=document.getElementById("paginate-"+setting.id)
var phtml=""
var toc=setting.toc
var nextprev=setting.nextprev
if (typeof toc=="string" && toc!="markup" || typeof toc=="object"){
for (var i=1; i<=setting.contentdivs.length; i++){
phtml+='<a href="#'+i+'" class="toc">'+(typeof toc=="string"? toc.replace(/#increment/, i) : toc[i-1])+'</a> '
}
phtml=(nextprev[0]!=''? '<a href="#prev" class="prev">'+nextprev[0]+'</a> ' : '') + phtml + (nextprev[1]!=''? '<a href="#next" class="next">'+nextprev[1]+'</a>' : '')
pdiv.innerHTML=phtml
}
var pdivlinks=pdiv.getElementsByTagName("a")
var toclinkscount=0 //var to keep track of actual # of toc links
for (var i=0; i<pdivlinks.length; i++){
if (this.css(pdivlinks[i], "toc", "check")){
if (toclinkscount>setting.contentdivs.length-1){ //if this toc link is out of range (user defined more toc links then there are contents)
pdivlinks[i].style.display="none" //hide this toc link
continue
}
pdivlinks[i].setAttribute("rel", ++toclinkscount) //store page number inside toc link
pdivlinks[i][setting.revealtype]=function(){
featuredcontentslider.turnpage(setting, this.getAttribute("rel"))
return false
}
setting.toclinks.push(pdivlinks[i])
}
else if (this.css(pdivlinks[i], "prev", "check") || this.css(pdivlinks[i], "next", "check")){ //check for links with class "prev" or "next"
pdivlinks[i].onclick=function(){
featuredcontentslider.turnpage(setting, this.className)
return false
}
}
}
this.turnpage(setting, setting.currentpage, true)
if (setting.autorotate[0]){ //if auto rotate enabled
pdiv[setting.revealtype]=function(){
featuredcontentslider.cleartimer(setting, window["fcsautorun"+setting.id])
}
sliderdiv["onclick"]=function(){ //stop content slider when slides themselves are clicked on
featuredcontentslider.cleartimer(setting, window["fcsautorun"+setting.id])
}
setting.autorotate[1]=setting.autorotate[1]+(1/setting.enablefade[1]*50) //add time to run fade animation (roughly) to delay between rotation
this.autorotate(setting)
}
},

urlparamselect:function(fcsid){
var result=window.location.search.match(new RegExp(fcsid+"=(\\d+)", "i")) //check for "?featuredcontentsliderid=2" in URL
return (result==null)? null : parseInt(RegExp.$1) //returns null or index, where index (int) is the selected tab's index
},

turnpage:function(setting, thepage, autocall){
var currentpage=setting.currentpage //current page # before change
var totalpages=setting.contentdivs.length
var turntopage=(/prev/i.test(thepage))? currentpage-1 : (/next/i.test(thepage))? currentpage+1 : parseInt(thepage)
turntopage=(turntopage<1)? totalpages : (turntopage>totalpages)? 1 : turntopage //test for out of bound and adjust
if (turntopage==setting.currentpage && typeof autocall=="undefined") //if a pagination link is clicked on repeatedly
return
setting.currentpage=turntopage
setting.contentdivs[turntopage-1].style.zIndex=++setting.topzindex
this.cleartimer(setting, window["fcsfade"+setting.id])
setting.cacheprevpage=setting.prevpage
if (setting.enablefade[0]==true){
setting.curopacity=0
this.fadeup(setting)
}
if (setting.enablefade[0]==false){ //if fade is disabled, fire onChange event immediately (verus after fade is complete)
setting.contentdivs[setting.prevpage-1].style.display="none" //collapse last content div shown (it was set to "block")
setting.onChange(setting.prevpage, setting.currentpage)
}
setting.contentdivs[turntopage-1].style.visibility="visible"
setting.contentdivs[turntopage-1].style.display="block"
if (setting.prevpage<=setting.toclinks.length) //make sure pagination link exists (may not if manually defined via "markup", and user omitted)
this.css(setting.toclinks[setting.prevpage-1], "selected", "remove")
if (turntopage<=setting.toclinks.length) //make sure pagination link exists (may not if manually defined via "markup", and user omitted)
this.css(setting.toclinks[turntopage-1], "selected", "add")
setting.prevpage=turntopage
if (this.enablepersist)
this.setCookie("fcspersist"+setting.id, turntopage)
},

setopacity:function(setting, value){ //Sets the opacity of targetobject based on the passed in value setting (0 to 1 and in between)
var targetobject=setting.contentdivs[setting.currentpage-1]
if (targetobject.filters && targetobject.filters[0]){ //IE syntax
if (typeof targetobject.filters[0].opacity=="number") //IE6
targetobject.filters[0].opacity=value*100
else //IE 5.5
targetobject.style.filter="alpha(opacity="+value*100+")"
}
else if (typeof targetobject.style.MozOpacity!="undefined") //Old Mozilla syntax
targetobject.style.MozOpacity=value
else if (typeof targetobject.style.opacity!="undefined") //Standard opacity syntax
targetobject.style.opacity=value
setting.curopacity=value
},


fadeup:function(setting){
if (setting.curopacity<1){
this.setopacity(setting, setting.curopacity+setting.enablefade[1])
window["fcsfade"+setting.id]=setTimeout(function(){featuredcontentslider.fadeup(setting)}, 50)
}
else{ //when fade is complete
if (setting.cacheprevpage!=setting.currentpage) //if previous content isn't the same as the current shown div (happens the first time the page loads/ script is run)
setting.contentdivs[setting.cacheprevpage-1].style.display="none" //collapse last content div shown (it was set to "block")
setting.onChange(setting.cacheprevpage, setting.currentpage)
}
},

cleartimer:function(setting, timervar){
if (typeof timervar!="undefined"){
clearTimeout(timervar)
clearInterval(timervar)
if (setting.cacheprevpage!=setting.currentpage){ //if previous content isn't the same as the current shown div
setting.contentdivs[setting.cacheprevpage-1].style.display="none"
}
}
},

css:function(el, targetclass, action){
var needle=new RegExp("(^|\\s+)"+targetclass+"($|\\s+)", "ig")
if (action=="check")
return needle.test(el.className)
else if (action=="remove")
el.className=el.className.replace(needle, "")
else if (action=="add")
el.className+=" "+targetclass
},

autorotate:function(setting){
window["fcsautorun"+setting.id]=setInterval(function(){featuredcontentslider.turnpage(setting, "next")}, setting.autorotate[1])
},

getCookie:function(Name){
var re=new RegExp(Name+"=[^;]+", "i"); //construct RE to search for target name/value pair
if (document.cookie.match(re)) //if cookie found
return document.cookie.match(re)[0].split("=")[1] //return its value
return null
},

setCookie:function(name, value){
document.cookie = name+"="+value

},


init:function(setting){
var persistedpage=this.getCookie("fcspersist"+setting.id) || 1
var urlselectedpage=this.urlparamselect(setting.id) //returns null or index from: mypage.htm?featuredcontentsliderid=index
this.settingcaches[setting.id]=setting //cache "setting" object
setting.contentdivs=[]
setting.toclinks=[]
setting.topzindex=0
setting.currentpage=urlselectedpage || ((this.enablepersist)? persistedpage : 1)
setting.prevpage=setting.currentpage
setting.revealtype="on"+(setting.revealtype || "click")
setting.curopacity=0
setting.onChange=setting.onChange || function(){}
if (setting.contentsource[0]=="inline")
this.buildpaginate(setting)
if (setting.contentsource[0]=="ajax")
this.ajaxconnect(setting)
}

}

jscheuer1
12-23-2010, 08:16 PM
That's an old outdated version of the script. The most recent can be found here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentslider.htm

However, from the error you are getting, that might not be the problem. Sounds like the HTML markup on the page is giving you the error by making the script point to an element that's not there. If so, Chrome must be error correcting for that somehow. The old script did work in Firefox and IE.

But since I assume you no longer have the complete instructions for the old script, and I have no idea where you would find them, I'd suggest updating to the current version. Make sure to follow the step by step instructions on the demo page, especially as regards the example HTML markup.

Alternatively, if you post a link to the page on your site that contains the problem code, I may be able to determine if my theory is correct. Either way, it would be the best way to determine if there is a way to fix it while still using the old script.

If you want more help:

Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

jmonroe
12-23-2010, 08:28 PM
Here is the link to my webpage that I am having problems.

http://www.jeremymonroe.com/v2

I purchased this WP theme from someone who included the script in the main page. I have no documentation and the designer offers no support. Anything would be great. I figured that contentdivs is being called but not defined anywhere but if that were the case, how would Chrome be able to find where its defined in the code versus IE/Firefox not being able to see it.

Got me stumped. Thanks John.

Edit--I have downloaded the files and the js coding looks exactly the same to me. I get the same exact error when I plug in the files and coding into my index.php file. Do you think it's possible that I will have to make a static index page with the coding and not use a WP page for the index? Or is there a way to make the index.php file pull in the right code and reference the js file and properly work?

jscheuer1
01-24-2011, 12:52 AM
Works fine here. I do see the error though in IE, Firefox, and Chrome! A non-fatal error in all. It's probably a non-fatal error in any browser. Most browsers don't report all errors unless you ask them to. IE does so by default for most errors fatal or non-fatal. Firefox requires (or used to, I always have it on now, so I don't know what the current default is) use of its console to detect errors. Chrome is the same (requires use of its console to detect errors).

The error is possibly due to the HTML code not following what's expected, leading the script to look for a non-existent pdiv. This is often the case in situations like this. But I don't think so here. If you use any browser's 'view source', you will see that there is a:


<script type="text/javascript" src="http://jeremymonroe.com/v2/wp-content/themes/Monroe/contentslider.js"></script>

and a:


<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.jeremymonroe.com/v2/wp-content/themes/Monroe/contentslider.js"></script>

as well as two:


<script type="text/javascript">

featuredcontentslider.init({
id: "slider1", //id of main slider DIV
contentsource: ["inline", ""], //Valid values: ["inline", ""] or ["ajax", "path_to_file"]
toc: "increment", //Valid values: "#increment", "markup", ["label1", "label2", etc]
nextprev: ["", ""], //labels for "prev" and "next" links. Set to "" to hide.
revealtype: "mouseover", //Behavior of pagination links to reveal the slides: "click" or "mouseover"
enablefade: [true, 0.2], //[true/false, fadedegree]
autorotate: [true, 3000], //[true/false, pausetime]
onChange: function(previndex, curindex){ //event handler fired whenever script changes slide
//previndex holds index of last slide viewed b4 current (1=1st slide, 2nd=2nd etc)
//curindex holds index of currently shown slide (1=1st slide, 2=2nd etc)
}
})

</script>

You have to either abandon WP for this page or take control of it so that it doesn't result in this duplication of effort.