PDA

View Full Version : Images not showing, background bug - Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.4)



zowika
12-03-2010, 12:07 AM
1) Script Title:

Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.4)

2) Script URL (on DD):

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem:

Hi there,
I'm having some small problems with this (btw) amazing script!
- First one is that some pictures just won't seem to load, I've tried converting them under 100kb but still some of them just wont load, is there any fix for this maybe?
- Second problem is: I would like to have some kind of a preloader, I've made my own backgroundpicture(a .gif image of the same size) Which I putt in with CSS as a background, In the div (<div id="slideshow" class="slide"><img src="images/thumbnails/loading.gif" /></div>) But both of these methods didn't have any result!
I'm not that of a pro when it comes to java!
Help is extremely appreciated!

Best regards,

Example page: Click meee (http://le-krak.com/new/FR/)

jscheuer1
12-03-2010, 04:29 PM
The fadeslideshow.js file has been edited and is throwing an error in IE for jQuery. Other than that, I don't see any problem with images not showing up in other browsers, perhaps on a slower connection. They're all there anyway, so eventually they should show up. It never hurts to optimize your images though.

But for IE you must restore the original script. Get a fresh copy from the demo page and use that.

As for creating a background-image for the class slide, in the style.css file:


#slide {
background-image: url(images/thumbnails/loading.gif);
width: 800px;
height: 400px;
}

That does nothing. It's for id slide. Even if you had it for the class, it wouldn't override the styles that the script creates. To do that, you need the !important keyword and a proper selector.

I'd use:


#slideshow, #slideshow .gallerylayer {
background-image: url(images/thumbnails/loading.gif)!important;
width: 800px;
height: 400px;
}

zowika
12-08-2010, 08:55 PM
Hi John,

Thank you so much for your reply, It did fix the background issue!
But the slideshow is still not working on the following pages:
- Musee
- Restaurant
- Bar Lounge
- Spa
- Contact

Would you be so generous to have a second look at it?
Thanks in advance!

http://alturl.com/jyhav

bluewalrus
12-08-2010, 09:14 PM
Slideshow works here ff 3.6.12, you have to give it some time because of the size of the images (6551.9K).

zowika
12-08-2010, 09:17 PM
Weirdly enough, the browser tells me that the pages are fully loaded, still no pictures! :mad: Are there no mistakes in the script?

jscheuer1
12-09-2010, 05:22 AM
Spa page works fine here in IE 8, Opera, Chrome. Perhaps you just need to refresh the page and/or clear the browser's cache.

zowika
12-10-2010, 02:37 PM
Everything seems okay now! Thanks for your help guys!

zowika
12-10-2010, 02:41 PM
Crap, Still not working!
First time visit it worked proper now once again the pictures just won't seem to load!

jscheuer1
12-10-2010, 07:11 PM
Either use a unique wrapperid for each show, or set persistence to false:


var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "slideshow", //Must be unique across all pages if persistence is true
dimensions: [800, 400],
imagearray: [
["images/thumbnails/14.jpg", "", "", "Le Krak, Palace, Marrakech"],
["images/thumbnails/67.jpg", "", "", "Le Krak, Palace, Marrakech"],
["images/thumbnails/68.jpg", "", "", "Le Krak, Palace, Marrakech"],
["images/thumbnails/69.jpg", "", "", "Le Krak, Palace, Marrakech"],
["images/thumbnails/47.jpg", "", "", "Le Krak, Palace, Marrakech"]
],
displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:true},
persist: true, //Alternatively, this may be set to false
randomize: false,
fadeduration: 1000,
descreveal: "ondemand",
togglerid: ""
})


What's happening is that since the slideshow on the main page has so many more images than the one on the spa page and sets the same cookie (as governed by the wrapperid), when the spa show loads, chances are the cookie is pointing to an image number that doesn't exist in the spa show.

This is actually a feature, if you have the exact same slideshow on two pages and want it to pick up where it left off when switching to the other page.

Once you get everything fixed, if you've elected to use unique wrapperid's, you will need to close all instances of the browser to clear the existing session cookies. Either way, you may need to clear the cache/refresh the page as well to see changes take effect.

zowika
12-11-2010, 12:16 PM
Hi John,

Once again, you amaze me!
It did the job!!! Thank you (all) so much for your time, effort and help!
It's working perfectly now.

Sincerly,