PDA

View Full Version : Using ' # ' in url.

james d
11-05-2010, 09:36 PM
I'm a bit new to java script so I don't know if this is really easy - it probably is but anyway.. I really like this site http://www.segd.org I've had a look at the code and I can follow it more or less but want to understand how it works not just copy and paste. What I can't get my head round is how they are using ' # ' it appears in the urls and I can't figure out the structure. anybody know a tutorial or something on this

Nile
11-05-2010, 09:49 PM
In some cases, if you were to have a div with the name "blah," then a link to your page like this: http://page.com/index.html#blah. That would tell the browser to, once the page is loaded, scroll down to the element with the name of blah. If you just put in the # without anything, it scrolls to the top of the page. It doesn't actually do anything.

james d
11-05-2010, 10:12 PM
Imagine; I'm on this page:- ' www.segd.org/#/conference/index.html '

I click a link and go here:- ' /www.segd.org/#/about-us/index.html '

where have I gone? Is it a new page or is it the same page but has the content been changed using java or something. If it is a new page is it in a different file?
I suppose it is simple but I just don't see what the structure is!

I had a look at their code and they mention a 'hash redirector' what is that all about or is it nothing to do with this question.

Nile
11-05-2010, 10:15 PM
It's both. Go here: http://www.segd.org/about-us/index.html
See, the page is the exact same without the #. But the javaSCRIPT - YOU MUST SAY JAVASCRIPT (I am hypnotizing you), say it... not say it again. Remember it. xD - helps the transition.

djr33
11-05-2010, 10:21 PM
The hash symbol (#) splits two very different parts of the URL (or URI): the actual "address" and what is called a "fragment" (after the #).