PDA

View Full Version : Time-based Progress Bar w/ Geocities



Krackerpops
11-03-2005, 01:26 AM
Script: Time-based Progress Bar
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex11/dhtmlprogress.htm

Progress bar doesn't seem to work with geocities. Probably due to Geocities' add ins to the script that could be in conflict with it.

This is the website source code:



<script language="JavaScript">var PUpage="76001055"; var PUprop="geocities"; </script><script language="JavaScript" src="http://www.geocities.com/js_source/pu5geo.js"></script><script language="JavaScript"> var thGetOv="http://themis.geocities.yahoo.com/themis/h.php"; var thCanURL="http://us.geocities.com/krackerpops/free.html"; var thSpaceId="76001055"; var thIP="65.70.249.193"; var thTs="1130978807"; var thCs="e4e6ec37abd6e5bda3cc5391d446c17c";</script><noscript><link rel="stylesheet" href="http://themis.geocities.yahoo.com/jsoff.css?thIP=65.70.249.193&thTs=1130978807"></noscript><script language="JavaScript" src="http://us.geocities.com/js_source/geovck07.js"></script>
<!-- text above generated by server. PLEASE REMOVE -->
<html>
<head>
<title>free</title>

<meta name="generator" content="Created Using Yahoo! PageBuilder 2.61.88">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" link="#0000FF" vlink="#FF0000" text="#000000"
>
<!-- following code added by server. PLEASE REMOVE -->
<link href="http://us.geocities.com/js_source/div.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"><script language="JavaScript" src="http://us.geocities.com/js_source/div03.js"></script>
<!-- preceding code added by server. PLEASE REMOVE -->
<script language="javascript" src="timerbar.js">

/*
Time-based progress bar- By Brian Gosselin at http://scriptasylum.com/bgaudiodr
Featured on DynamicDrive.com
For full source, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com
*/

</script>
<table border=0 cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 width=467>
<tr valign="top" align="left">
<td><img src="http://www.geocities.com/clipart/pbi/c.gif" height=1 width=108></td>
<td><img src="http://www.geocities.com/clipart/pbi/c.gif" height=1 width=38></td>
<td><img src="http://www.geocities.com/clipart/pbi/c.gif" height=1 width=321></td>
<td><img src="http://www.geocities.com/clipart/pbi/c.gif" height=1 width=1></td>
</tr>
<tr valign="top">
<td colspan=2 rowspan=1 width=146><font face="Arial" size="+1"><span style="font-size:18">Please Stand-by..</span></font></td>
<td colspan=2 height=22></td>
</tr>
<tr valign="top">
<td colspan=4 height=134></td>
</tr>
<tr valign="top">
<td colspan=1 height=30></td>
<td colspan=2 rowspan=1 width=359><b><font face="Arial" size="+2"><span style="font-size:24">Your Free Complimentary Gift!</span></font></b></td>
<td colspan=1 height=30></td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>
<!-- text below generated by server. PLEASE REMOVE --></object></layer></div></span></style></noscript></table></script></applet><script language="JavaScript" src="http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mc/mc.js"></script><script language="JavaScript" src="http://geocities.com/js_source/geov2.js"></script><script language="javascript">geovisit();</script><noscript><img src="http://visit.webhosting.yahoo.com/visit.gif?us1130978807" alt="setstats" border="0" width="1" height="1"></noscript>
<IMG SRC="http://geo.yahoo.com/serv?s=76001055&t=1130978807&f=us-w89" ALT=1 WIDTH=1 HEIGHT=1>

And this is the Original script:



<script language="javascript" src="timerbar.js">

/*
Time-based progress bar- By Brian Gosselin at http://scriptasylum.com/bgaudiodr
Featured on DynamicDrive.com
For full source, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com
*/

</script>


How do i make the Progress Bar work on my Geocities?

jscheuer1
11-03-2005, 05:46 AM
Geocities (as are many free hosts) is a poor hosting choice when you are planning on using much javascript. Free hosts generally, Geocities in particular, put many of their own scripts on your page automatically when you upload them. These scripts often conflict with some or all of your own scripts on your page rendering them nonfunctional or dysfunctional. The real test is, if it works locally but, not on Geocities, it could well be script conflicts, there are other possibilities. Two of the biggest conflicts arise when your script uses i or j as variables (Geocities hi-jacks those for its own scripts) or if your scripts attempt to put offsite material inside a frame or iframe on Geocities (they've got scripts designed to prevent that). In the first case you can change all i's used as variables to other more complex variable names, same with j's but, of course, use a different name for all the j's used as variables. The second problem has no work around that I know of.

Krackerpops
11-03-2005, 03:48 PM
Hmm.. lol. yes im kinda new at this scripting jazz and i appreciate what your telling me. So.. how do i replace i or j variables? i guess what im asking is where are the i or j variables? I feel stupid lol. On another thread somone had problems with the Dynamic Splash Screen Effect and someone posted a modified script. It worked very nice. Anyways.. do you guys have a tutorial of some sort to modify scripts to work with free host like geocities?

jscheuer1
11-03-2005, 10:02 PM
If that is the problem and the only problem, then changing this:


//THIS FUNCTION BY MIKE HALL OF BRAINJAR.COM
function findlayer(name,doc){
var i,layer;
for(i=0;i<doc.layers.length;i++){
layer=doc.layers[i];
if(layer.name==name)return layer;
if(layer.document.layers.length>0)
if((layer=findlayer(name,layer.document))!=null)
return layer;
}
return null;
}

in timerbar.js to this:


//THIS FUNCTION BY MIKE HALL OF BRAINJAR.COM
function findlayer(name,doc){
var xdt,layer;
for(xdt=0;xdt<doc.layers.length;xdt++){
layer=doc.layers[xdt];
if(layer.name==name)return layer;
if(layer.document.layers.length>0)
if((layer=findlayer(name,layer.document))!=null)
return layer;
}
return null;
}

will take care of it.

Krackerpops
11-04-2005, 03:49 PM
Well it didn't work Lol. Ohh well.. its not of any importance anymore and plus it educated me on how limited free host are =P Thanks for your time.