PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Menu not working in IE8



jeyush
09-24-2010, 01:55 PM
1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.4)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

It absolutely working fine in other browsers but in IE8 it gives me an error in javascript.

Where the submenu is created at that line it giving me error.
Webpage error details


Message: 'parent().get(...)' is null or not an object
Line: 49
Char: 2
Code: 0
URI: http://www.gourmetkitchenessentials.com/content/skins/flat/javascript/ddsmoothmenu.js

line 49 is this

$mainmenu.parent().get(0).className=setting.classname || "ddsmoothmenu"

How can I resolve this issue?

Thanks.

ddadmin
09-24-2010, 09:29 PM
Make sure there are no unclosed or malformed elements inside your menu's UL markup. Other than that, please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

jeyush
09-25-2010, 05:04 AM
Ya there are certain variable in <ul> like this


<ul jQuery1285390260812="5">

This is the live site that's why I am not able to have that right now. But I can provide whats going on IE8 by image.

In IE7 its running fine.

It's working on IE compact view but what happening in IE8, I really amazed.

Here is the snap of the IE8
http://www.gourmetkitchenessentials.com/images/menu_IE8_not_working.bmp

Its working fine with no sub menu in it.

Please look in the image there is no submenu created in first menu, thats why it shows it but after that all menu have the submenu and it's not displayed it at all.

jeyush
09-25-2010, 05:52 AM
My index.html has this code

<div id="smoothmenu1" class="ddsmoothmenu">
<ul>
{include file="boxes/box_categories_tree_item_new.html"}
</ul>
</div>

and this is the code of box_categories_tree_item_new.html


{if empty($category_level)}
{assign var="category_level" value=1}
{else}
{math equation="x + 1" x=$category_level assign="category_level"}
{/if}
{foreach from=$categories item="category"}
{if $category.level == $category_level && $category.is_visible == "Yes"}
<li>
<a href="{$category.category_url}">{$category.name|htmlspecialchars}</a>
{if !empty($category.children)}
<ul>
<li>
{assign var="categories" value=$category.children}
{include file="boxes/box_categories_tree_item_new.html"}
</li>
</ul>
{/if}
</li>
{/if}
{/foreach}

{math equation="x - 1" x=$category_level assign="category_level"}
{assign var="category" value=0}

jeyush
09-25-2010, 06:51 AM
I solved it.