PDA

View Full Version : Step Carousel Viewer - onslide:function()

ian_d
09-24-2010, 12:50 AM
1) Script Title: Step Carousel Viewer v1.9

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/stepcarousel.htm

3) Describe problem:
OK, I am very new to the javascript and jQuery world so this may well be a noob problem, which is with a single line of code in the setup param onslide:function.

To put it simply the issue I have is with jQuery's animate not being executed every time a panel is moved.

Let me explain...

<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">
stepcarousel.setup({
galleryid: 'informationpage', //id of carousel DIV
beltclass: 'belt', //class of inner "belt" DIV containing all the panel DIVs
panelclass: 'panel', //class of panel DIVs each holding content
autostep: {enable:false, moveby:1, pause:3000},
panelbehavior: {speed:500, wraparound:false, persist:false},
defaultbuttons: {enable: true, moveby: 1, leftnav: ['/images/ico_navl2.png', 0, 0], rightnav: ['/images/ico_navr2.png', 0, 500]},
statusvars: ['currentPanel', 'sameascurrentPanel', 'totalPanels'], // Register 3 "status" variables
contenttype: ['inline'], //content setting ['inline'] or ['external', 'path_to_external_file']
onslide:function(){
jQuery(document).ready(function(){
jQuery(".panel").css("margin-top", jQuery("#pageOptions").outerHeight(true) + "px")
jQuery("#informationpage").animate({height: jQuery("#panel"+currentPanel).outerHeight(true) + "px"}, 500)
})
}
});
</script>
The highlighted line is one that runs fine when the script is first loaded, i.e the first time, but upon sliding after this, it doesn't do anything. This is particularly annoying and even more baffling seeing as ...

jQuery("#informationpage").css("height", jQuery("#panel"+currentPanel).outerHeight(true) + "px") works exactly how I would want and expect it to work.

Could this be a script or jQuery error?