PDA

View Full Version : How to setup Forum



Top1
10-28-2005, 10:17 PM
I have a website www.Top1Deals.com. I have no idea, how to setup forum.
could you pls give me any ideas...



Thanks,
www.top1deals.com

Twey
10-28-2005, 10:30 PM
Download a forum (for example, http://www.phpbb.com/), extract it, and run the installation script.

Top1
10-28-2005, 10:55 PM
thanks, how to change the url name to

www.top1deals.com/forums/index.htm or php

and also putting logo etc...

cr3ative
10-29-2005, 08:26 AM
Read the manual, it's interesting and informative.

Don't rename it to .htm, that just confuses matters. Just link to www.top1deals.com/forums if need be.

You also need to sort out permissions so you don't need just idle threats to stop users creating threads in the wrong place.

-cr3

Twey
10-29-2005, 09:11 AM
See the "lock" button?

Top1
10-29-2005, 07:52 PM
Thank u very much for help..

I have already setup the forum., But i am not able to add my logo and all the buttons as my home, etc..


Could any one help this matter..

thanks for advance

Twey
10-29-2005, 07:59 PM
You need to edit the template. Look at the files in template/subsilver.

Top1
10-30-2005, 06:13 PM
Thanks Twey.......Planning to download more avatars, where can i get those...


Thanks,
www.Top1Deals.com

Twey
10-30-2005, 07:10 PM
There's this brilliant site (www.google.com/search?q=free%20avatars) I found...

cr3ative
10-31-2005, 05:18 PM
Hahaha! I mock your google skills!

This is what you want (http://images.google.com/images?q=avatar&svnum=10&hl=en&lr=&sa=G&imgsz=).

-cr3

Top1
10-31-2005, 11:14 PM
Is there anyway to setup URL links (Insert URL Links)..

Like Top1Deals (http://www.Top1Deals.com)

Twey
11-01-2005, 03:38 PM
Where?

Top1
11-02-2005, 03:37 AM
In the Forum section, While Posting the thread.

This form When we enter new/reply post, If we want to enter the link/s then we can click here Insert Hyperlink (In this forum) but My forum is showing URL button, its not taking.

Ex: if we want to open some sites like : w.sitename. /somename/etc....

instead of this we can enter like somename

Top1deals (http://www.Top1deals.com/forum/)

cr3ative
11-02-2005, 06:52 AM
Ever heard of the "URL" button? Or the manual for that matter?

/notes down on the list of sites never to purchase from

Twey
11-02-2005, 03:30 PM
If the "URL" button doesn't work, you most likely have broken it somehow (possibly by a script in the header?). Try reinstalling stock phpBB and trying again, if you don't know what it could have been.

Top1
11-04-2005, 05:55 AM
URL links are working but if we want to enter new url link we have to enter name

Twey
11-04-2005, 06:39 AM
Yes, this is correct behaviour.

Top1
11-09-2005, 10:36 PM
Can we upload Attachments on the forum?

How to setup this option in phpbb forum?

Thx

cr3ative
11-10-2005, 07:48 AM
Short answer: No.

Long answer: Yes, but you need to have about an hour spare and very good eyesight along with a competent knowledge of PHP and modifying PHPBB files.

-cr3

Twey
11-10-2005, 06:53 PM
http://www.phpbbhacks.com/download/251

Top1
11-13-2005, 06:05 PM
Thanks Twey and Cr3ative.

I have downloaded the file but little bit confusion to me. How to install.

Now I am using PHPBB 2.0.18. Could you please give us any idea.

Twey
11-13-2005, 06:14 PM
The file contains instructions. Read it.

Top1
11-18-2005, 05:38 PM
Twey,

After changing mysql password (phpmyadmin) , forum is is giving some prob. Where we have to change the password in the forum..

If we want to change the password what we have to do? could u pls let me know

thx for ur help..

cr3ative
11-19-2005, 09:00 AM
Change the information in /config.php

-cr3

Top1
11-19-2005, 03:52 PM
Thank u very much