PDA

View Full Version : Positioning help for anylink css menu



Scorcher
09-15-2010, 06:22 PM
1) Script Title: Anylink CSS Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/anylinkcss.htm

3) Describe problem:

I am a beginner at html so I need some help to adjust the position of anylinkcsscols popup. I am dropping it to the right of my anchor image. I want to move it a little left and a little up so it overlaps my anchor image. Can you please guide me what lines I need to change?

ddadmin
09-15-2010, 09:27 PM
There are a few threads on this already actually. Anyhow, inside the .js file, try adding the changes in red below:


posx-=5
posy-=7
menu.dropmenu.setcss({left:posx+'px', top:posy+'px', visibility:'visible'})

Change 5 and 7 as desired, which correspond to the additional horizontal and vertical offsets.

Scorcher
09-15-2010, 10:00 PM
I tried searching but I couldn't find a thread about this particular problem . My problem is resolved anyway. Thank you so much for your support.

Edit: Now I have another problem, as soon as I add the script to my web site the layout of navigation menu goes off its place in IE8 but shows up pretty well in FF3+. Can you please tell me what is causing this?

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb119/Scorcher9/scriptprob.jpg

(The css menu is added to 2nd and 6th button)

Scorcher
09-15-2010, 11:33 PM
http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb119/Scorcher9/scriptprob2.jpg

Scorcher
09-16-2010, 07:58 AM
Bump!

ddadmin
09-16-2010, 08:04 AM
Does your page contain a valid doctype at the very top? Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

Scorcher
09-16-2010, 02:36 PM
Yep, that was the problem. As soon as I mentioned the transitional dtd on the top the layout came to its original position but then there was a blank space on the very top of the page above the header image. Adding 0 margin and padding in the body tags cleared out that space. Now there is only one issue, the placement of the dropdown menu.

My anchor images include some fade out effect, it can be seen in the pictures. As shown in FF3.6 I have tried to place the menu on the anchor image overlapping the fade out. The issue is in IE8 the menu shows about midway the anchor image, vertically. I mean it shows some pixels down.

Do you have a workaround for that?

P.S.: I am working on it locally.

ddadmin
09-16-2010, 06:42 PM
Hmm without seeing a working example of what you have so far, it's very hard to speculate what the problem could be.

Scorcher
09-16-2010, 07:35 PM
Alright, uploaded the stuff to [LINK REMOVED]. I thought the layout problem has gone but it is still there in previous versions of IE. It only shows up good in IE8. So now again we have two problems to deal with.

P.S. Thank you for your quick response, I highly appreciate your effort.

Scorcher
09-17-2010, 01:55 PM
Bump!

Scorcher
09-19-2010, 04:06 AM
Are you ever going to help me?

ddadmin
09-21-2010, 10:10 PM
For the issue of the sub menus not aligning properly in IE, you might try giving the main menu images explicit width/height attributes:


<a href="2.htm" class="anchorclass myclass1" rel="submenu1" rev="lr" data-image="/images/but2a.jpg" data-overimage="/images/but2b.jpg"><img src="/images/but2a.jpg" style="border-width:0; width:207px; height:32px" /></a>


IE may not be calculating the image's dimensions correctly without them. If that doesn't help, see if making use of IE's make use of IE's compatibility mode doctypes help instead. Add:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7" />

to the HEAD of your page. This is explained more here (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc288325%28VS.85%29.aspx).

Scorcher
09-23-2010, 07:47 AM
The aligning issue (position of drop downs is offset in all versions of IE) and the spaces between main menu images(prior to IE version 7) still there. Tried both of your advices but no help and btw thanks for replying.

Scorcher
09-25-2010, 01:41 PM
Since, I am not getting any help from here I removed the link. No one, NO ONE HAVE ANY SOLUTION FOR MY PROBLEM?

jscheuer1
09-26-2010, 02:20 AM
Since, I am not getting any help from here I removed the link. No one, NO ONE HAVE ANY SOLUTION FOR MY PROBLEM?

For something like this, without a link to the problem page there is little anyone can do.

Also consider that ddadmin is one of our best, in fact the author of this script and most of the others in the DD library. He is busy though, some patience on your part may be warranted.

That said, being a moderator I was able to have a look at your removed link. I can't see any difference between Opera, Firefox, or IE 8. I tried IE 8 also in IE 7 and quirks mode. Still no perceptible difference.

I saw your images. But they don't look like what I see in the browsers.

Now, it's always possible that you changed the page, or that there is some problem specific to your browser.

But, if it's not just your browser, and you want more help:

Please post a link to a page on your site that demonstrates the problem so we can check it out.

If it is just your browser, a link may still help. But at that point it is more likely your browser's settings than anything else.