PDA

View Full Version : Spacing between header problem. IE8



Grenier
09-04-2010, 05:35 PM
1) Script Title: ddaccordion.js

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ddaccordionmenu-bullet.htm

3) Describe problem: Using IE8. The problem I describe also happen on DD demo page. When playing around with header they open and collaspe correctly but sometime the spacing between header just fall to 0px. According to css setting, the spacing should always be 10px. Tried with Chrome and it's seems to be all good. Any quick fix ? Thank's for your suggestion.

Merci from Quebec.

ddadmin
09-04-2010, 05:50 PM
I've seen this before, though can't quite recall under what exact circumstances it happens. The DD demo you cited looks consistently fine for me btw in IE8. Instead of say "margin", you might try using another CSS property such as "padding" for the spacing to see if that gets around the problem.

Grenier
09-04-2010, 07:23 PM
Tried playing with css setting (padding, margin) as you suggested with no success. Attached a snapshot of the problem taken from DD demo url. Found another member of this forum is having the same problem ( http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57122 ) I'm not trying to be a pain here, just pointed out a small glitch... I find this menu so great and it's already in my website.

ddadmin
09-05-2010, 12:18 AM
Ah yes after longer testing in IE8, I can confirm the problem. It seems for some reason IE sometimes removes the margins associated with an element when it's CSS display is set to "none". If I have time I'll try and revisit this issue later next week to see if I can find a solution.

CSWeb
09-08-2010, 07:34 PM
The workaround I use is to put the following in the head tag:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7"/>

Grenier
09-08-2010, 10:41 PM
Your workaround worked great!. Thank's a lot! In the meantime, been testing ddaccordion.js and a couple of menu based on that script have the same issue on IE8. Are you aware if emulating IE7 has side effects?

CSWeb
09-09-2010, 01:30 AM
I've not seen any side affects, but I'm no web guru.

I think it'll only break things if you are specifically coding stuff for IE8 (but who on earth does that?). You'll have to test your sites.

Also, I do it because it's a workaround. It may not be a long term solution, but I don't care (it's IE after all) and it means people see my sites as I want them to.