PDA

View Full Version : PHP Search

nikomou
10-26-2005, 10:25 AM
Hi,

I am looking for a way to have my visitors search using a search bar on my site. Depending on the keywords used, i would like to "include" a specific page.

Is there any way of doing this?

If so, I want to manually make a list of all the keyword(s) and which page to include.

Has anybody done something like this before?

nikomou
11-10-2005, 11:00 PM
Ok, I've changed a few things now. I am now using a mySQL database, and would like to use the database's search function, but how would i go about doing this?

I would like the users to type their search querie into a search box, and then show the data matching the querie...

I dont know the html code to put a search box / form, or the mySQL statement thingy to use! Can anyone help?

PS. The search queire is part of the url, correct? e.g. search.php?q=keywprd ?

dead-poetic
11-10-2005, 11:17 PM
I wrote this, I am still new to php so It might not be correct, but I works. Feel free to edit it and use it.

<?php
if($_POST['action'] == "search") {
if(strlen($_POST['keyword']) <= 3){
print "<p><b>Your keyword must be longer than 2 characters</b><br>";
}
else{
// Database Connection
// Create database connection and select database
mysql_select_db('database', mysql_pconnect('server','username','password')) or die (mysql_error());

// Time Fuction
$time = microtime();
$time = number_format($time,3);

// Perform MySQL query on only the current page number's results
$keyword = "".$_GET['q']."";
$query_tbl = ("SELECT * FROM search_data WHERE `keywords` LIKE CONVERT( _utf8 '%".$keyword."%'
USING latin1 )");
$sql = mysql_query($query_tbl);
if (mysql_num_rows($sql) == true){
echo "<p><b>",mysql_affected_rows(),"</b> Search Result(s) Found For <b>$keyword</b></p></font>";
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($sql)){
// Build your formatted results here.