PDA

View Full Version : Web site makers?

Turkster
10-20-2005, 07:25 PM
im new to the whole deal of making a web site, but im willing to learn how to, where do i start? i do have dreamweaver8 on my PC but it looks and feels so un friendly to use for a learner,

Anyone?

FordCorsair
10-21-2005, 08:44 AM
In the UK many colleges run evening classes at very reasonable rates for these types of applications (25-70). Even in the holiday periods, to get some more money in while the full time student is away, the colleges run daytime courses over a few days.

I too was completely lost when I looked at Dreamweaver 4 for the first time (2001). Alternatively grab some sites off the web open them up in Dreamweaver and then look how they are constructed in code and on the layout page. Open the images/thumb nails up in a phot application an see how big thier files are as a guide too...

Good luck (I am not an authority on web design but I can relate to the daunting task ahead of you)

mwinter
10-21-2005, 10:55 AM
im new to the whole deal of making a web site, but im willing to learn how to, where do i start?That would depend on your intentions; your long-term goals. Do you just want to knock up a personal site for fun, or do you want to learn to do things 'properly'?

i do have dreamweaver8 on my PC [...]If you're taking the first of the two options above, then I would recommend finding a good Dreamweaver tutorial and become familiar with the program (can't help you there, I'm afraid). However, if you want to take the second, I would suggest you forget about Dreamweaver entirely, for now.

I'll leave it there until you reply.

Mike

Turkster
10-21-2005, 12:49 PM